We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Central Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gastro Pub & Restaurants with a strong emphasis on good food, craft beers and live entertainment seven nights a week. Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with unique private party areas that are available to hire for any function. Winner of the Overall National Bar of the Year Award 2014 and Best Modern Irish Cooking in a Bar Award 2014 at the Bar of the Year Awards in October 2014. Winner of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) Best Gastro Pub in Meath Award both in 2013 and 2014.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Such a fabulous place with surprisingly great atmosphere, only to be let down by very disappointing food. All my courses were bland and those with me felt the same about theirs. Come on guys, this could be super cool venue.... Get the food sorted!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Wakeymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments about our venue and the great atmosphere at The Central Navan. We were not long open when you reviewed us and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food offering at the time. We take all customer comments and suggestions on board and we have been working hard to make improvements across the board. I hope that you will consider visiting us again soon and giving us some more feedback. Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    196
    87
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely evening last Sunday upstairs in the rooftop reasaurant, this was our second visit to the Central.The rooftop restaurant has a lovely relaxing and romantic atmosphere,the staff as in all the Central are very friendly and do not hesitate to recommend their favourite to you the really know the menu.The last time we were there was for lunch downstairs with our daughter and again the atmosphere was great the place was packed and everyone was enjoying themselves. I would highly recommend you to try this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sharon - we are delighted with your review and kind comments about The Central Navan. I do hope that you will visit us again soon and continue to give us feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb food, service & overall ambience, Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have been to the Central a number of times now, for lunch, dinner and just a drink and on every occasion we have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Food is absolutely delicious, service was fast, friendly and super efficient and the overall restaurant bar & ambience was second to none. I would highly recommend a visit to the Central if you are visiting or living in Navan, its a unique dining experience, and theres a menu to suit everyones needs, whether you fancy just a pizza or cooked fresh fish of the day, or a juicy steak, and the prices are very reasonable.

It's also perfect if you just fancy a drink to relax or watch a match in the front or back bars on the large TV's. Almost forgot, I'm a regular to pick up a €1 filtered coffee on my way to work in the front Café, fantastic value. Will definitely keep going back for more, huge thumbs up!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Darren - thank you for your positive review of The Central Navan. We hope that you will continue to visit us regularly and give us more feedback in the future. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Central, Navan - You've been Centralised!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Have been to the Central in Navan three times now and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We have been as a couple , with our kids and then for one of our kid's birthday...all very different but equally good. On our own as a couple we were led upstairs to a beautiful, modern yet cosy adults-only dining area, sweet! esp when you have a babysitter minding your kids. All good there and delicious food. I am partial coeliac and so I was very well looked after with Gluten free options. The staff are refreshingly friendly without being OTT and the food choices are varied and interesting, plus plenty of fish options on menu and specials. Next up with the kids two teens and a nine yr old, so only one for the kids menu (but was reassured that the boys could avail of it but our adolescents insist in choosing from the ADULT menu !! so all good. BTW The kids menu is fab at ten Euro for four courses and really fresh and tasty. The burgers are delish and for me were served with gluten free seed bread, the sides are very tasty and the pizzas are authentic also with a gluten free option. The prawns were tasty but I needed more dressing and was given same no problem, the ribs are to die for, the whole bunch of us loved them. the desserts are good with excellent choice Burke's ice cream as an option. My gang are picky as two lactose intolerant and me gluten free and one who breaks out in a rash when he sees food dressed with salad!!! All happy...drinks ..really clever idea eco water with a splash is much better option for kids than a fizzy (and much better for their teeth and sugar levels...mammy speak, only a euro for litre bottle, Daddy speak!!) the smokey Central ketchup is am excellent addition to any table..all of us love it..the toilets are clean and spacious with the toilets upstairs having their own sink area in the cubicle..classy! Lovely bar outside plus outside dining area upstairs which is very elegant. In all areas great lighting, funky,vintage, slightly american atmosphere with the added bonus of really helpful and friendly staff..always worth the tip! On the whole eating in The Central Navan gives you fresh food, value for money, lots of buzz and makes you feel that you were a welcome addition to the night...if you in the Meath area or environs well worth a visit. Highly reccommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank IrelandOrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your very positive feedback about the food, decor, service and atmosphere at The Central Navan. I hope that you will make many return visits and continue to give us feedback in the future. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food, wine and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a great meal here with a good friend last week, could not fault any of the 3 courses we had and the wine was fab. The best bit for me was the roof terrace after our meal, we were brought up there, given blankets and heaters turned on to finish our bottle of wine ...really was a great night and will definitely go back .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank AnneHopkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Anne: thanks for your positive comments about your visit to The Central Navan back in August. We do hope that you will return again and continue to give us feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Central Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Navan, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
 
Kells, County Meath
 

Been to The Central Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing