We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly home away from home”

Hill of Tara House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill of Tara House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 18 Navan B&B and Inns
Whitney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heavenly home away from home”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I first discovered Hill of Tara B&B, then called Seamrog B&B, in 2003, when on a winging it Ireland trip. It has been one of the best discoveries I've made in 9 trips. Joan Maguire is an amazing hostess and is now an amazing friend. Each trip you are welcomed with a cuppa and some kind of wonderful baked good, a big hug, then a great visit. The rooms are lovely, and the beds so very comfortable....Not to mention the delicious breakfast you are served. Now Joan has great help from her daughter Sinead and son in law Derek.

At the top of the hill in Maguire's you can get an amazing meal and some really great homemade baked goods. The owner Michael Maguire is so friendly and helpful that you feel very welcome for sure. He also has some really great offerings in his shop from books, to jewelry, and yes, things with shamrocks.

Tara is the perfect place to start any Ireland trip and is only about 25 miles from Dublin airport. In a nutshell, you feel at home, and the peace and serenity you feel in Tara is impossible to put into words. You have to experience it to understand. I would never consider a trip to Ireland without a stay at Hill of Tara B&B.

Room Tip: Any room will be great as they all have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amana, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived in the rain. The hospitality was great, They gave us directions to a wonderful restaurant. We enjoyed learning about the five generations of the Maguire family. This B & B was in one of the most historic and unspoiled areas of Ireland. We felt like we were really in the country. We could see Tara Hill from our room. This was one of the must see areas in Ireland. We would definitely stay at the Hill of Tara House B & B again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We fell head over heals in love 2 years ago with this lovely Bed and Breakfast found in the Irish Countryside run by a hostess that makes you feel like you are a part of the family. So it was again, that we were lucky enough for a return visit to Ireland and our thoughts turned to a reunion with our dear friend Joan and her family. It was like we had never left. Our conversations continued where it had left off and so did the laughs. We were greeted with a big smile and hugs. Home made deserts were found each evening when we returned from a long day traveling the lovely countryside. The next morning was filled with a huge home cooked breakfast served in the family dining room. The grounds are filled with bright flowers and fresh air. If you visit Ireland, skip the bus tours and head out to the real Ireland and discover why they call this the green isle and find this country bed and breakfast and fall in love like we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRSIMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My niece and I also was told about the Hill of Tara House by locals. Miss Joan was wonderful and the view was breathtaking. We were given a warm welcome and when we left Miss Joan made sure we were fed a meal fit for a King to get our day of travel off to a great start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Tara Hill House B&B is literally ON the base of the Hill of Tara. You can walk out of the door and be immediately on this incredible hill, steeped in myth and ancient archaeological remains. It is a lovely traditional small B&B, with genuinely warm hospitality, very helpful family owners, bright and clean rooms with views out over the fields, comfy beds, and lots of interesting books on the area to read. It is a quiet spot with a café and craft shop less than a minute walk away. The B&B was happy to cater for my special diet (the cafe was also helpful and knowledgeable in this way). There are many restaurants in the surrounding area if you want to eat out in the evening. Newgrange is also only a short drive away if you want to visit there too, but actually staying on Tara in this B&B is a much more peaceful option. The beauty of Tara Hill House is that you can be immersed in the wonderful vibe of the Hill of Tara and have free access to the Hill before any other tourists arrive for the day, or in the evening when people have gone home. I would fully recommend this B&B. It is the perfect place to relax, recuperate and connect with the wonders of ancient Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had originally picked another place to stay for our first night in Ireland but the "castle" was grown-up with weeds and was nothing like what the web-site had looked liked. We decided to strike out on our own (in a foreign country with no place to sleep) and we came up on the historic Hill of Tara and decided to have a late lunch at the local coffee shop and cafe (next to the entrance of the Hill of Tara). The cafe was right ready to stop serving and close up but the owner learned of our horrible experience with the "castle stay" and welcomed us to sit down and eat. He served us the best beef stew and brown bread and formally welcomed us to Ireland. He said, "Now my mother runs a cute little bed and breakfast down the road and I will call her to see if she has a room, if you do not like it, I will be more than happy to suggest some more places nearby". He called and sent us no more than 50 feet down to this wonderful oasis near this historic site. The owner and mother of our new guide to Ireland was Joan (my mother's name!) welcomed us with open arms and her home felt like we had walked into a friend’s house. It is a clean “ranch style” built home with a hostess that felt like family. Joan’s daughter was visiting and suggested for us to settle in and then drive to their local pub to enjoy a drink. What we did not know at the time, we were about to walk into some Irish history, Mrs. O’s pub (Skryne Hill, Co. Meath, Ireland) where every year the Guinness Beer Christmas commercial is filmed. This cute little pub was filled with locals and the best music played by the men of the local area. I closed my eyes and experienced an “Irish Dream” while standing and listening to this “toe tapping” and “out of the body” music experience while sipping on my “Paddy’s” whisky (I was in heaven). What first turned into a horrible experience with our reservation at the “castle” became what I could describe as pure bliss. We then walked next door to “foxes” pub to enjoy a Guinness and King’s crisps (made local) and learned of the proper way to drink a pint with the local men. At the end of the night, we drove back to the Hill of Tara House and found a soft and inviting bed. The next morning we discovered that we were the only guest staying and the breakfast was fit for a king. Joan with her soft spoken voice and bright smile served us fresh fruit and many other items including a large hot Irish breakfast. She gave us suggestions to look out for the “4 leaf clover” sign in front of Bed and Breakfast(s) as these places have been vetted and often surprise checks from the authority to make sure that they are following guide lines. Before we departed, Joan gave us a big hug and well wishes for a safe return. Please take it from us, our new found friend Joan and her lovely home will be a haven for travelers.

Room Tip: Check out O’Connell’s, (Mrs O’s), Skryne Hill, Co. Meath, Ireland
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BRSIMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
4.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Station House Hotel
The Station House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmessan
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
3.8 mi away
Bective Mill House B&B
3.9 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 18 in Navan
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill of Tara House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill of Tara House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill of Tara House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hill of Tara | Tara, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing