We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service, great atmosphere”

The Russell Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Attended a friend's birthday party on Feb. 18. The food was excellent, great selection of Irish whiskeys. Enjoyed the atmosphere, staff were very attendant, good time was had by all. Highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back on my next visit to Navan.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    54
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kells county meath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Attended a friends birthday party last Saturday night in The Russel, wow what a fab night we had. Food and service was excellent. Have not been here for a while, and I have to say how much it has improved. Well done guys.

Helpful?
5 Thank molKellsCountyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I'm sorry to say that my recent trip to the russell will be the last time I'll be visiting. The food on the whole ranged from poor to inedible. Starters were slow to arrive, with the meat being of such poor quality that most of it was left behind....and that was the highlight. Service was uninterested and very bad, the bill was unacceptable considering the experience. Why also does the chef feel the need to douse everything with basil oil? It would seem that the formula that worked so well in the loft does not translate to its new establishment...the lovely surrounding suggest a little more class.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Extremely long wait”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Booked a table around Christmas time for 8.30. We were eating desert at midnight. I appreciate it was very busy on the night but don't allow the bookings if you cannot handle them. Very inattentive staff. Were waiting an hour before we were served drinks & also half of our party were left downstairs waiting as they were told the rest of us hadn't arrived! won't be back in a hurry

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced food horrible staff don't go in hungry coz you will be waiting.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

went for a meal their as me and a few girls went their last march for a meal and we enjoyed it.But my things changed went in got seated waited for staff to serve us after half hour got our orders in starter fine main course one hour later cold no staff waiting on table it was not that it was busy never again would i go there for a restaurant in town close it Down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank navanfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Russell Restaurant also viewed

Navan, County Meath
 

Been to The Russell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing