We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B - Don't stay on the ground floor at the back of the dining room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ma Dwyers was a very pleasant B&B. However whatever you do, don't stay on the ground floor near the dining room. They've got hardwood floors in the corridors and it's really noisy and disturbed our sleep. It was particularly bad when people got up in the morning (being on holiday, I like to sleep in!) It was also bad when people came in late at night.

We stayed there for 4 nights, and looking back I wish I'd asked to move rooms.

If I'm ever in Navan again, I would still stay here, but I'd request a room upstairs.

The room itself was spacious, the proprietor was friendly, and the breakfast of good quality and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Wylie_Coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

myself and my friend stayed here for the tara rocks festival,lady at reception could not have been nicer such a helpful friendly lady, even when we could not get the key into the lock at 2 in the morning she came out of nowhere and let us in, still polite as ever..room was lovely and clean and comfy except the bathroom was very small.Did not make breakfast :( which was disappointing as it smelt fab from our room...would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinead l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Price was discounted because we paid in cash. Breakfast was a traditional Irish breakfast, lots of food. Had a weird order come from our window but our room was upstairs and tucked back in a corner. Have to pay for wifi here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very clean , modern , breakfast was top class . Very good base to recharge the battery's .

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paramedic-197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending the Solheim Cup. The staff was friendly and breakfast was good. It was very easy to find in Navan. The guesthouse is in need of some TLC, seemed very beat up. What bothered me most...there were spider webs and spiders everywhere...both myself and the couple we were traveling with woke up to a spider in the shower too. :-( Plus, no free wifi, which is pretty much standard everywhere you go these days (that was disappointing). It was very quiet in the back of the house (front of the house heard road noise)...a rooster woke us up every morning (that was kind of funny).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melmoluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple of friends on New Years Eve. the lady who met us there was really nice and the rooms were huge and modern. Our friends discovered on arrival that the radiater was broken so they informed the lady who immediately moved them to another room which was great. The breakfast the next morning was a typical proper fry up and tasted delish!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed here with my Fiance on 17 June 2011 as we needed somewhere to stay around the Navan area. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who gave us the key to our room and also to the front door so we could come and go as we please. The guesthouse was spotless and very spacious. Our room was of the standard that you would expect in a top hotel. It was lovely and quiet, had a very comfy bed and the bathroom was cleaned to the highest standard. There is a large selection on offer for breakfast, cereals, fruit juices and fresh fruit. There is also a menu for the hot food, which is cooked when you order, so nothing is sitting out drying up. The food was delicous and service was excellent. Very good value for money. There is nothing bad about this place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovely2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Navan hotels
0.6 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
382 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Killyon Guest House
Killyon Guest House
#15 of 19 in Navan
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#2 of 19 in Navan
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meadow View B&B
Meadow View B&B
#4 of 19 in Navan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Dwyer's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Dwyer's Guest House

Address: Dublin Road, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range: $93 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Dwyer's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Dwyer's, situated on the banks of the river Boyne in Navan, Co. Meath, boasts all the space and luxury of a modern hotel. Purpose built in 2006, rooms are light and spacious with modern décor, en-suite with power showers, telephone points, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries etc. We can easily accommodate up to 35 guests, with some ground floor rooms also available. We also offer free parking on the grounds. Recommended by the Michelin Guide 2013/2014, Ma Dwyer's Bed & Breakfast is viewed as a "bib hotel", which is recognised for its excellent value and quality services. We pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable to all of our guests and strive to surpass their expectations. Our goal is very simple, to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and at home while staying with us. After a relaxing sleep in one of our luxurious beds, guests can enjoy a delicious full Irish breakfast or choose from a range of cereals and fruits. All meat and fresh produce is sourced locally. With an abundance of food to choose from, we like to make sure that no guest leaves Ma Dwyer's table still hungry! Our Location We are conveniently located just 2 minutes from the M3 motorway. Dublin City and Dublin Airport are easily accessed by car in approximately 30 minutes. With many local attractions such as the Hill of Tara, Newgrange, Slane Castle, Trim Castle and the home of the Book of Kells all within a 15 minute drive, guests are sure to experience true Irish history and charm right on their doorstep. Guests can take advantage of the numerous river walks along the banks of the Boyne, where the legendary Salmon of Knowledge was caught. Or have a fun-filled day at the races at Navan Race Course. For those that enjoy other activities, go-karting, paintballing and archery are available in the town. Or if you are interested in theatre, the Solstice Arts Centre is approximately a 10 minute walk from our guesthouse. Whether travelling alone, in a group or with family, relax and enjoy your stay at Ma Dwyers Guest Accommodation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ma Dwyer's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing