We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love Newport”
other travelers have booked this property
View from across the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from across the water
View of front of house dinningroom/kitched
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View from across the water
View of front of house
dinningroom/kitched
dinningroom/kitchen
Sittingroom
Bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Main bathroom
Raised back garden overlooking water
Kayaking in Newport
Night view of Black Oak Rivew in Newport
Surfing in nearby Achill
Newport by night
Grainuaile Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nan W
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Newport”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Quey House fully met our expectations, in fact exceeded them! We arrived to freshly baked bread and scones from Kathleen and we were very well looked after for the whole of our stay. The house is very homely and comfortable, with everything you require. We loved Newport and the people, who were interested in taliking with you and knowing who was stayng in 'Mary Kelly's' house. We enjoyed the food and entertainment at the local pub. This was an ideal base for us to visit many areas of Co.Mayo and beyond. Two wonderful relaxing weeks and we can't wait to return. Thank you Kathleen and Chris for looking after us so well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely house with all modern convieniences
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goopleton
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent house in good location”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house was beautiful and spacious. The rooms, fixtures and fittings were all clean, tidy and in good repair. There were 2 TVs, with Irish and UK channels, a bookcase with an eclectic mix of books and magazines, including brochures for local sites of interest, a massive garden, nice views across the river and of the hills from the living room, bedroom and dining room windows. A few minutes walk into town one way, and to a park the other way, and set on a quiet road. The bathrooms were comfortable, as were all the other rooms. Mrs Walsh gave us a thorough run-down of everything and left us some freshly backed bread and scones, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Wifi signal was strongest in the dining room; the kitchen was modern and well equipped. Can't think of anything negative to say about this lovely well kept house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of the house and its style
Liked least: The house was excellent, can't really fault it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mckeevera...
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
“holiday at Newport”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

enjoyed our stay at quay house , everything was clean and tidybut was disappointed to find we had no wi fi when we arrived, Kathleen did her best to help and got us some temporary means also we didn't get to meet our feathered friends (chickens) so there were no fresh free range eggs on tap every morning.i would advise Kathleen to keep her add updated and make sure people know 100% what they will get for their money. Not a lot to do in Newport.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this wonderful house with my family for a week. I have stayed in many rental properties in the area and this was by far the best. Kathleen was wonderful to deal with from start to finish and was always quick to respond when I had questions.
The house is lovely and warm with plenty of space. We were greeted with fresh scones and bread .You feel like your in your own home. We had our 2 year old nephew with us and the place was really safe for him, Kathleen supplied stair gates, travel cot and high chair ( which I was unable to get in all the other properties I looked at) the chickens were a big hit and the garden was lovely and safe for him to run around. He especially enjoyed bringing down the fresh eggs every morning.
I can not recommend this places highly enough, I will definitely be staying next time I back in Mayo.
It is also the perfect location for shops, bars and an easy drive to all the local attractions. Beautiful view of the river from the front of the house and the road is lovely and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocastells
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - Highly recommended!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We will always remember our stay at Quay House in Newport as one of our best experiences in Ireland: a clean, confortable, spacious house, and the wonderful kitchen you see in the photos. Newport is also a perfect location if you wish to visit Achill Island, Westport, or Croagh Patrick, and there are great food shops for such a small town. Thank you Kathleen for all your help and advice during our stay!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figg16
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Great Place, beautiful location, excellent facilities. I thouroughly recommend this house, it has every thing and is very well stocked. Absolutely delicious scones and brown bread left for us on arrival. Kathleen is very easy to deal with and very friendly. People in Newport are very friendly and they are trying very hard to make it an attractive place to stay. Short walk to town centre and bars. I also like the fact that the price is all inclusive (including electricity and fuel) this is the norm in europe but not usually in Ireland. This is the standard that other rentals should aim for. Great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and atmosphere of the house
Liked least: only one key for front door
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing