We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whether you're fishing or just sightseeing a boat trip out into Clewbay is a must on a fine day”
Review of Clewbay Charters

Clewbay Charters
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clewbay charters offers full or half day fishing trips. Explore Clewbay and its 365 islands hosting an array of wildlife and breath taking scenery.
Mayo,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whether you're fishing or just sightseeing a boat trip out into Clewbay is a must on a fine day”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were fortunate to have fabulous weather for our trip around the islands in Clewbay. We combined sightseeing with a little fishing and I would highly recommend this.It's an ideal trip for groups and families and anyone who would appreciate the beautiful scenery. The owner was a well informed guide, very accommodating and relaxed.It is also possible to do three hour fishing trips.Well worth the money!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just spent 4 hours fishing in clew bay with clewbay charters! They couldn't have done enough for us! It was my familys first time fishing including 2 children (11 and 9 girls)! They loved it!! We fished for mackerel and it was plentiful! At one stage my 11 yr old daughter had 5 fish on her line! It was very impressive!!! Along with cups of tea and fresh fired mackerel baby potatoes boiled in salty water covered with butter was on the menu! I could have had a whole pot full!! Delish!! Great day out! Great skipper!! Great company!! Couldn't recommend them enough!! Child friendly and very patient even with a very squirmish mother!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Aineos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out and very family friendly!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We really enjoyed are day out with Clewbay Charters. Saw some seals, cruised round the islands, even caught a rather big fish! Crew were very friendly and very patient with our two over-excited boys. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great craig.....”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent the day fishing Clew Bay with skipper Darraigh and his mate, Steve. We could not have wished for more.... Well maybe a few more fish! The lack of our catch, all down to amateurish fishermen as opposed to our fantastic crew was outweighed by the fantastic hospitality and craic which was had.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Last August on a family staycation in the west of Ireland, myself, my husband and three children stopped off in the picturesque town of Newport on our way to Mulranny. My eldest son is mad on boats of all kinds and spotted a sign for boat tours.
The boat was modern and clean with ample space for our 2yr old to wander around freely. The skipper was very hospitable and knowledgeable. We spend two hours exploring clew bay and the kids were able to fish. We were treated to on tap tea and coffee and we also got to cook our catch of mackerel, which was delish!!!. I would highly recommend this as a family activity.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clewbay Charters also viewed

 
Newport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Clewbay Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing