We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newport House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newport
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Newport(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Mill(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clew Bay Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
68
18
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
18
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse meallovely sitting roommy husband and i have justevening dinnercarnetea leavesopen firefrom start to finishmemorabiliaconnemarawestport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 97 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A highlight of our trip to Ireland. It will not be for everyone as it is very quiet, typically "comfortable" in that country house way, and the average age is about 70. The 6-course meal is fantastic and not to be missed -- the chef accommodated my husband's dietary requirements by eliminating butter. Service is exemplary and the sommelier, with years of experience and a terrific wine cellar, guided us to an excellent bottle of wine that enhanced our meal, but did not break the bank. We chose staying in a manor house over a castle and believe we had a more personal experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IOWENI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our second visit for three nights. This place is special. Quite apart from excellent fishing and outstanding breakfasts and dinners, the standard of service, the courteous informality of staff and the feeling that nothing is too much trouble are reminiscent of a bygone age.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We dined at Newport House recently and i can only agree with other contributors who described the experience as old world charm. Everything was perfect - food, wine and service. There was a good choice on the dinner menu , four starters, soup/sorbet, 5 main courses including three fish dishes, cheese board and a mouth watering dessert menu and tea/coffee served in the lounge in front of a real fire!! Staff very friendly and efficient. It is probably for a special occasion but we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I dined at Newport House in late July 2013. From start to finish it was a really lovely experience. The House exudes an old world charm. The staff were extremely professional and Catherine (Manager) was a charming host. The food was excellent. Everything was perfectly executed. From the starters to soup, sorbet, salad, main course (monkfish with asparagus was perfectly cooked), cheeseboard (all irish) and dessert, it was faultless. We would highly recommend Newport House!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First time to Mayo should have gone 35 years ago. NH is a gem stuck in time thankfully. Food service and wine excellent not to mention the charming staff. Some rooms better than others.. No TV etc which was great. Went for 4 days stayed for eight. Going back in September

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews