We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've been there a couple of nights ago and the landlady was really welcoming and helpful with us (completely soaked cyclists) even tho we didn't book the place in advance.
The place is really cozy and faces to the river, great location, I would definitely recommend the b&b.

Room Tip: Very quiet spot close to the town centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely b&b. Maureen is a very hospitable owner and made us feel very welcome. The view from the bedroom window across the river is wonderful. There is only a small road separating the b&b from the river. The breakfast was good and dinner is only a short distance to the local pub.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta, victoria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

What a gem. Just driving into the town of Newport had a lovely feel about it. Maureen the owner of the B&B was very welcoming. From stepping inside the front door we felt like we were walking into our own home. A beautiful lounge room for the guests with a fire burning, lovely clean fresh rooms. A fridge for guests use with fresh milk for a cup of tea. Something we have not had so far. A short stroll to the main street and walk across the bridge to a local pub Grainne Uaile. A fabulous meal had there and a lovely atmosphere. A short drive or a day bike ride to Achill Island and two places in which to hire bikes, both push and electric. If I ever come back to Ireland I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend and cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: We had the twin room. We didn't have a view out the front to the channel but it was still lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Four of us stayed on 3rd April while walking The Western Way.
Maureen was very welcoming and we settled down for the night due to our late arrival.
We were given a great choice of breakfast, and enjoyed every bit. Maureen dropped our luggage off at our next B&B in Westport at no extra charge. She also dropped off glasses which were left behind by one of the members of our group. We enjoyed our stay and our company have the Anchor House on our listing of accommodation.

Anne & Maura
Trailwalkers Ireland Ltd

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are more modern, if that's what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This B&B is situated in the small town of Newport, overlooking the river. It is very easy to find, and the rooms are cosy and contain all the basic amenities required, including coffee, tea and biscuits. The room was also very clean. It was my second visit to this B&B, and definitely recommend it if you are visiting the area or as a stopover for the night. The first time that we stayed here, we had a room upstairs which was more modern than the one downstairs, but both were very clean.

Breakfast is also very good and is freshly prepared by Maureen. It is also a short ride from Westport (around 10-15mins by car), and is close to a pub or two in Newport for a good lunch or dinner. I recommend 'The Grainne Uaile' pub which has excellent food and never disappointed in both times that we ate there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs which are more modern than the ones downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for three nights in September 2013. Our room on the first floor had a balcony overlooking the river, great to watch the boats rise and fall with the tide. The room itself was attractive, clean and comfortable, with the added bonus of two comfortable chairs, something not all b&bs think to include. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a bright and cheery dining room. Maureen was friendly and helpful, happy to answer any questions. The b&b's location is a real plus, with easy access to routes leading in all directions from Newport, and also near to several restaurants and shops. We particularly enjoyed our dinner at one of the pubs recommended by Maureen, the Grainne Uaile. We enjoyed our stay at Anchor House, and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

While traveling with a group in Ireland, we were fortunate enough to stay at Anchor House. The rooms were very clean and beautifully furnished with a private bathroom. Maureen made our group feel right at home and provided impeccable service. She even went out of her way to make a fire for us each night in the guest lounge after we came back from dinner.

Each morning we had a made to order breakfast that was presented so well it could have been on the front of a cooking magazine. No matter what we needed, Maureen was able to help us out. On furure trips to Ireland I will definitely stay at Anchor House and HIGHLY recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
194 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
964 reviews
5.9 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenway Bed & Breakfast
Greenway Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in Newport
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anchor House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Quay Road, Newport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing