We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I would rather read reviews than write them to be honest but need to tell you all how wonderful it is here. It's everything and more you could want, what friendly lovely people Sandra and padraig are and young Luke, nothing is to much trouble to these people, even dropped us down into carlingford when we were heading out for a few drinks and dinner, I'd be happy to stay here for a week or longer Anytime of the year!!! Highly recommend and could not fault!!! You don't know what your missing
Many thanks
George kavanagh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Accommodation was just right for us.”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Castlegardens is in a beautiful complex of holiday homes in st helens beside the village of kilrane rosslare harbour county wexford.
A home from home , very clean with real beds to get a good night sleep .
The complex grounds are well looked after and very safe.
Would recommend this listing to all. Jk.
Just one thing no internet in the accommodation and the owner said that she will have it installed in the next few months.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Hi
This review is not for my property.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneA...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect, excellent location, gracious hosts and beautiful scenery”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Minutes from beautiful Carlingford and mid-way between Dublin and Belfast, the Glenvale House is situated in a scenic setting allowing for a picture perfect view of the Irish countryside. Upon arrival, goodies and basics were provided, a definite plus! Thank-you for memories my family and I will not forget!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
NEWCASTLE
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Glenvale”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely loved staying here. Padriac and Sandra are a dream. Our little one is autistic and a real handful they couldn't have been kinder. He even had a wander into their house for a look. Garden is incredible and the views are stunning.
2 bedrooms are really comfy and beautifully furnished. Plenty of hot water, toasty warm and a fully fitted kitchen. Milk, bread, butter, biscuits and crisps all awaiting us too.

Theres a TV and DVD player in the living room but if you want to stay in your mad when all that beauty is one your doorstep.

We drove to Templetown beach just 5 mins away for the day which was lovely.
You are also a short drive from the big town of Newry and the beautiful Carlingford closer still with its bars, icecream parlour, park etc.

Reilly broke a vase and a glass while we stayed and we tried to leave some funds to cover it. Sandra was having none of it. Real salt of the earth people and we wish them well with GlenVale.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiv6o2
1 review
“One off the best.”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My parents atayed here for a long weekend at the start of september. Had a brilliant time, nothing was too much for sandra or padraic. Would definatley recommend this to anyone who is interested and family and friends. Will most certainly be going back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcC...
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here at the end of July, the house was great had everything you need. The kids had a great time the garden had swings, bouncy castle etc. We went to a beach not far from the house and there is a lovely Chinese just down the road. Great all round.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherina...
Carrickmacross, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend we haven't stopped talking about”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we arrive to our departure, Padraic & Sandra made our entire family feel so welcome at Glenvale and very much apart of their family.

We have 3 very young active children who keep us on our toes at all times, we find it difficult to get a minute to relax when on family breaks, well, not at Glenvale. The children spent most of the weekend outside enjoying the spacious garden were they pitched their tent to experience camping, played football and had the use of a see-saw & swings (purchased earlier in the week) which Padraic & Sandra made sure was assembled for their stay at Glenvale. We were able to relax, enjoy the sunshine have a BBQ while the children enjoyed the country environment within the confines of Glenvale. Since returning home, we have spoke about returning to Glenvale in the near future (possibly before school returns).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, relaxing surroundings and some place our children could enjoy the outdoors
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing