We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions.”
Review of Riina's Italian

Riina's Italian
Ranked #14 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stumbled in here after all places around close at 9pm. Had heard good things about it. Was met by a pleasant staff member. I ordered calamares which was very light and tasty. Then I had the bambino pizza which was good. Only the plate was cold was a problem. Ordering a coffee was complicated. A chef told others machine was off. I adked one waitress and she said same but another said no problem they could switch it on. Still they are new and I could say give it a try. Food is reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank frankm654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    6
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little pizza place”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are looking for a good pizza at really reasonable prices in relaxed, attractive surroundings with pleasant, friendly service then you can't go wrong. If, like many other people seem to these days, you expect 3-Michelin-starred food, exemplary service and an extensive wine list for the price of a Big Mac meal - then you'll be sorely disappointed. This place does what it says on the tin - no more, no less. The service was a little slow, but it didn't matter. We only had pizza and a chocolate cheesecake so I can't comment on the quality of the food on the rest of the menu but what we had was great and wouldn't hesitate in recommending Riina's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplesabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ummm...not too sure, keep reading!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Have been here twice and have also recommended it to other people. The only thing is while your there the staff never check if you're okay for everything even though they need another person or staff member! Food doesn't come out piping hot and the wait time for your food can be up to 50 mins-but bare in mind all the food is freshly made!! I really love the food and decor of the place but its the simple things anyone expects in any restaurant that is disappointing and a let down! Great value for money and the best in regards food in Carlingford!

Helpful?
1 Thank SCB2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited here shortly after it opened, both had pizza and very impressed. Brought friends two weeks ago, the worst dining experience in the village, service was distinctly poor but pleasant, bread stale, starter salads wilted, we all opted for steaks........ The worst steak and accompaniments we have ever tasted, steak very fatty, sauce tasteless, fries arrived following dinner. Embarrassing as we had raved about to our guests on the strength of our earlier visit, maybe pizza the safest option. Certainly do not visit for a culinary delight.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ok place”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went here with my GF and a couple of friends last week, very friendly staff welcomed us into restaurant and sat us in a nice area. the started i ordered Bruchetta consisted of a small slice of Vienna bread with and hand full of chopped tomatoes on top of it not great value for money, ordered the pizza for mains was disappointing enough the pizza was over powered with parma ham which was all over it, a tad expensive for what it is.

Did no accept card either which wasn't great as had to leave and go to the bank machine down the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simondub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riina's Italian also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to Riina's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing