We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
59
22
4
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
22
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partythe ownerviews are amazingstayed heregreat place to havethe wood burning stovefantastic locationfew drinkscouldn't do enoughwalking distancepaulcraicaccommodationhenswee
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 92 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

During the oyster festival we stayed at the Viewpoint, we needed 5 separate rooms for friends and family,Mal and I had stayed before so we knew the chances of 5 rooms were little or none but we succeeded in obtaining 3 rooms, our company was like ourselves, absolutely delighted with the magnificent panoramic views, the food and best of all, our hosts Paul and Marae, really lovely people, just so helpful. The motel style rooms lacked nothing, tea and coffee making,comfortable very clean beds,very adequate bathroom and the bonus was an openair log style secluded party area,far enuf away to stop our singing and guitar playing to anoy other guests..we partied until 4.30am even tho some of us r in r 60's (giggles).. We r trying for Sept 20 to celibrate Lance's birthday..book it and u will have no complaints..Margaret from Belfast

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed last saturday nite at viewpoint, found our room lovely & clean & all that you need in it,loved that it was like a holiday apartment with patio doors & furniture & looked out onto the sea,views were stunning & made all the better because the weather was great...paul was a very welcoming host & left us into town & also picked us up....we didnt get a chance to experience breakfast as we had to get off in a hurry but will definately be back & will have it next time......

Room Tip: rooms at the front have fantastic views...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golftdi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great place to stay in Carlingford!! Just back from an excellent weekends Craic at the Viewpoint-wonderful views, lovely breakfasts and a welcoming atmosphere. Ably run by Paul and Marie with free taxi service up and down to village square and plenty of characters to meet along the way especially Paul who was a total madman but would have his company any day of the week!! The tiki hut is a great touch and Paul will have the stove and the candles lit in time for you coming back from the pub-a very different kind of "residents bar"! Don't let any silly bad reviews put you off this place- some people just have no sense of humour and fun!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends for one night, Paul the owner was brilliant. Sorted taxis for us to and from train and also provided a free taxi service to the town in the evening, which was about 5 minutes away. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The rooms were clean and comfortable with amazing views across the Bay. Breakfast was great, served in the dining room again with fab views. I couldn't recommend the Viewpoint highly enough, great accommodation and hospitality at a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ash197809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This truly is a gem of a place to stay, Myself and my wife stayed here and the owner & his wife couldn't be nicer they add so much to this already stunning location. Nothing was to much hassle including the freshly cooked breakfast all for a value price

We will stay here again and may not recommend to our friends for fear of it being overbooked
LOL

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews