We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Ranked #4 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend at carlingford.. Never stayed at this guest house before but we will definitely be back.. This lovely house sits right on the lough and is only a stone throw from the main town... (7 minute walk). On arrival we were greeted by Micheal the owner and we were immediately made to feel like we had arrived home.. The house was so warm and inviting and Michael gave us a quick tour and let us know where everything was that we would need. Our room was spacious but really cosy and we had a beautiful view of the lough.. The next morning we had breakfast and again we couldnt fault a thing.. Fruit to start, endless coffee and tea and toast, lovely homemade jams and the fry was so fresh and tasty.. The owners of this guest house really make you feel so welcome and relaxed and it's lovely that they remember your name... It's easy to see why they have won tourism awards.. Our stay was only 39 euro per night and worth so much more ( this is quiet season).. Please don't pass this lovely guest house if your looking for somewhere to stay. We will definitely be recommending here to our friends and family

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 218 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Another great stay at this charming B&B. Carlingford is an hour from Belfast and yet we are transported to another world with friendly local people and medieval streets. We love the village with the fabulous choice of places to eat. Tapas at PJs are special (crab claws and calamari are yum) and the music from a band at Ma Bakers was just to our taste. Breakfast was delicious with fruit salad, orange juice and a full Irish plate served in a sophisticated way and with very pleasant service from Glennis and Michael ,A good location with stunning views and tasteful decor too.Thank you from Emma and Brian

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't know what more I can say about this guest house other than perfect. It feels more like you are staying with friends rather than a guest house the proprietors are so welcoming. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in Beaufort House in Late December for 2 nights when attending a wedding in Ghan House. The room was spacious and clean with a great view of the lough. The breakfast was fantastic with a great choice, top class service and the best cooked food you could get. Glynnis and Michael were outstanding hosts and made us feel so welcome. From our experience this is definitely the place to stay when in Carlingford.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Dave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Michael and glynnis made us feel welcome straight away , nothing was a bother. The room was massive with a splendid view over the lough. The bathroom was ample with a good hot shower. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety beautifully presented. Overall an excellent b&b would she finitely stay again . Rosemary and David Hanna

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time staying here and we love it..always so friendly and welcoming! The room we stay in is really big..we always seem to get the same one with a lovely view
The breakfast is so fresh and cooked to order which we love.
We couldn't fault this place..location is great and it's quiet with very little passing cars. We will always stay here when in carlingford and I have recommended it to many people!
They are obviously doing something right with so many positive reviews..!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Despite all the wonderful reviews for Beaufort House we did not for some reason get the same welcome and hospitality. I have no idea why.

I read other reviews on Trip Advisor from which I quote..........

1 “Tea and a treat awaited us upon our arrival” we got nothing.

2 “Out of all the bed and breakfasts we stayed at in Ireland and Northern Ireland, which were all highly recommended by Tripadvisor, this was by far the best one. Totally professional hosts who could not do enough for you and yet were in no way intrusive.” This is the antithesis to our experience which is 14 visits to Ireland in the past 9 years staying in 20 different B&Bs.

3 I see pictures of a sitting room/ lounge on TA , we were never shown it neither was this mentioned to us.

On arrival before we could get through the door we were shown how to use a Yale lock, we were then taken straight up to our room where we were shown how to use a universal remote control, we found this both patronising and unnecessary. There were other little things which normally we would not bother about for example the small bed, the water being just about hot enough and the sloping roof in the bathroom which made it difficult to shower stood upright. All these accumulate to the detriment of the overall experience. Breakfast was a meagre affair, no buffet breakfast which is now the norm, apart from the cooked meal. This is alright in itself but we were not impressed by the miniscule portions of fruit, cereal, bread, jam in plastic packets and juice, see attached photo taken BEFORE I had started breakfast.

We were hugely disappointed, Beaufort house for us was nothing special, despite all its award plaques blazoned by the front door we weren’t made to feel welcome, the room was ordinary and the breakfast was mediocre apart from the fish which was good. I am a Trip Advisor Top Contributor and this is only the third review I have ever written that is not positive. However on this occasion I had to write a negative review because at Beaufort House we felt like unwelcomed intruders not welcomed guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauricedundalk, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are mystified and extremely upset by this very unfair review. 102 out of 105 Tripadvisor guest reviewers are clearly not in agreement with you. We are 35 years in the Guest House and Restaurant business and have never been accused of being other than welcoming. As part of the welcoming process in Beaufort House, we explain to our guests how everything works and where everything is! We have never been accused of being patronizing.
Breakfast in "Beaufort House" is freshly cooked to order,( unlike buffets) and is much appreciated by our guests, this obviates the necessity to repeatedly leave your table, as is necessary with a Buffet Breakfast. Home made preserves were provided, as evidenced by your photograph (white ramekins), in addition to commercially made product. All our guests are offered extra tea/coffee, Toast, brown bread or anything else they may request. We pride ourselves on our elegant dining room and our table settings, of crisp white linen, and silver cutlery.
I am 6'2" and can shower in comfort without stooping. The showers are electric and are temperature controlled by the individual guest. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy experience with us and chose not to communicate your dissatisfaction, at an early stage during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
75 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#2 of 13 in Carlingford
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grove House B&B
Grove House B&B
#6 of 13 in Carlingford
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: Beaufort House Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $92 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Carlingford
Beaufort Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing