We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Ranked #5 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Carlingford and have stayed in Beaufort House twice in the past month or so (including the weekend of 21 and 22 June 2013). We had tried to get a booking there before but, at last, we were successful on these two recent occasions. It is a lovely Guesthouse, with large, bright and spotless rooms. (The rooms are cleaned every day by a housekeeper - an unexpected bonus.) The breakfasts are delicious, with several options available. I am a fussy eater and Glynnis went to a lot of bother on my first occasion to get something suitable for me to eat and, on my second visit, remembered my preferences without any prompting which was a pleasant surprise. On our first visit, we had a lovely room towards the back of the house - if we had any quibble about this room it would be the sloping roof in the shower mentioned by one of the other reviewers on this site; however, it is a small quibble. On our second visit, we were surprised to get a room with a view of the Lough - a gorgeous view with the sun glinting off the water. (This room had a full height shower which was great.) Again, on our first visit, we were accompanied by a family member with mobility difficulties and this presented no problems in Beaufort House as our hosts ensured that she had a room on the ground floor. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikingsHaveLanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here on the 7th and 8th of June while we attended our friends wedding in the area.
We arrived earlier than expected and were welcomed warmly by the magnificent hosts Michael and Glynnis. We were shown to our Room (number 4). The room was immaculate and had a comfortable bed, dressing table, hair dryer and a spacious en Suite with a powerful shower. The best thing about the room though was the stunning views across the water and mountains. It's second to none.
In the morning you're provided with a fantastic breakfast to get you through the day. Michael cooking while Glynnis served the food. There's lots of choice whether you want healthy or a fry up. When it came to going to the wedding Michael (above and beyond the call of duty)even offered and gave us a lift to the place because of my girl friends ridiculous heels.This was very nice and appreciated greatly .
You are given a key to come and go from the property as you please so don't need to worry about coming in late/Early after wedding receptions etc.
We wouldn't hesitate in going back and can see why the Beaufort house has won so many awards.
Many thanks for your hospitality Michael and Glynnis.
From Findlay in Room 4

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beaufort House in Carlingford is definitely the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate and so nicely decorated with a beautiful double bed, made up like a 5 star hotel one. The bathroom was spotless and fresh and I had a stunning view of the sea and mountains. But most of all Glynnis and Michael's warmth, hospitality and attention to detail is what makes it so great. It was so refreshing to get such a healthy breakfast choice and I noticed most of the guests went for the healthy option rather than the "full Irish" which of course provide as well. Thanks for a gorgeous stay and I would highly recommend anyone visiting Carlingford to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeinsterlassDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found a wonderful B & B in Beaufort House, Carlingford, Ireland. The view was wonderful and only a short walk to the village for dinner after great dining advice from our hosts. This B & B comes highly recommended by us. Rooms were very nice; breakfast was wonderful; Michael and Glynnis were very gracious and accommodating. We will, without a doubt, return to this B & B on our next trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: there would not be a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bd13313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We wandered into the Beaufort House without reservations and we felt very lucky that they had had a cancelation and were able to accommodate us. The hosts of the B&B are wonderful people. They were so friendly and helpful, giving us recommendations on local food. The rooms were very nice and clean with outstanding views as they are directly on the water of the bay. Breakfast was the most gourmet of all of our B&B stays. The offered a filet of salmon which was outstanding and a beautiful full irish breakfast as well. We would highly recommend the Beaufort House to anyone traveling through Carlingford.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This B&B is great - we had a lovely weekend here. The rates were reasonable. The room was a very good size. It was nicely decorated and spotless. The beds were really comfortable. There was an electric blanket but the room was lovely and warm so we didn't use it - it would probably a be lovely treat in Winter. We had great views from both sides of the room. The breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice and really well cooked. It was a short stroll into town so we didn't didn't didn't to bother taking the car to go out for a meal at night. The owners were friendly and helpful. This is a 10 out of 10 place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for two days. Ten would've been better. Right near town and leprachaun whisperers home. Friendly innkeepers. Immaculate homely place. Right next to ocean.Better than 4 Seasons and better location. Go for Leprachaun hunt I. April if you have children who believe. Perfect place to stay if that's what you're planning to do. Can't recommend this place and that event enough. Magical.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlingford hotels
9.5 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#2 of 13 in Carlingford
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grove House B&B
Grove House B&B
#6 of 13 in Carlingford
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: Beaufort House Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $96 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Carlingford
Beaufort Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing