We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cooley Cottage

Large Setting Area/Conservatory/Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Setting Area/Conservatory/Sitting Room
Kitchen/Dining Dining/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Large Setting Area/Conservatory/Sitting Room
Kitchen/Dining
Dining/Kitchen
Dining/Fire
Double Room
Double Room
View of Entrance Hall
Triple Room
Triple Room/En suite
Triple Room/En Suite
Double Room
Carparking
Large garden area
Grassed Garden Area
Carlingford Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gemma1987...
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked Cooley cottage to stay for a hen party and it was perfect. It sleeps 12 and the conservatory was beautiful to sit in- perfect for our hen party activities. There was wifi and heating! Everything that we needed. Plenty of off road parking. Would definitely recommend if trying to organise a hen party- Jenis made everything easy!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maurahkel...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable house but traffic noise a problem”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house itself is warm, clean and comfortable. However it is literally on the main road into Carlingford and for 2 of the main bedrooms the traffic noise is very bad. We had to use ear plugs at night. It would not be a suitable house for young children due to the risks from the main road. This is a pity as it has a nice back garden. While we were there the gate was held open all the time to allow the owner access to a storage shed on the property. We had grown up children so it wasn't a problem for us. Due to its location on the main road, although it is only 5km from Carlingford, it would be a dangerous walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream5773...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve break”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely clean and warm cottage with plenty of beds. Very welcoming host who had the house spotless and some condiments in the kitchen. Better for people willing to share rooms as three rooms sleep three/four people in each. The outside doesn't look like much as it's on the main road but inside is perfect. €15 taxi to the village of Carlingford in a local 8 seater but lots of available taxis. We visited new years eve weekend and had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mums66
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved everything about this house.”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jenis made us more than welcome and nothing was a problem to her.The house is well situated to have a feel of country living while still being within reach of loads of activities.Something for everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette T
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good marketing for this property”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This property whilst spacious is situated on the side of a main road which make it difficult to get out in the evening and is very noisy for 2 of the bedrooms. We had to complain as the dishwasher and showers did not work as it was poorly maintained due to lack of rental.
no tin opener, no scissors and mold was on the bedding we had to complain to the owner who was prompt to respond and ensure all of our complaints were dealt with .
There is no view of the cooley or mourne moutains that is visible easily from the house and the house is badly designed as the open fire is in the dining room not in the conservatory. The conversevatory was very pleasant and was where we spent most time
in all a major disappointment

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliason
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Travelled with 6 adults, 4 children and 3 babies. The property was fantastic with plenty of space inside and outside for both adults and children. Jenis was very accomodating having 3 travel cots for the babies! Was handy with children to have a kitchen where we were able to have breakfast before heading off for the day and we took picnics most days too which was conveinent and saved money.

Property was clean but think it would benefit from a deep clean i.e. under and around furniture. Kitchen could do with bit of clear out of cupboards and tidied up but we just put all the items that were there into one cupboard and kept our stuff seperate.

Carlingford was a quaint little town and the kids loved the caverns. Also visited Tayto Park (about 1 hour) Dublin Zoo (1 hour 15 mins) Funtasia (45 mins) - approx travel times.. Would recommend visiting these. Also must say Fitzpatricks pub down the road heading for Ballymac roundabout - we thought this was such a unique pub and food was amazing, both taste and presentation - get fish and chips!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for the number in our group
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Guy...
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing