We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BB”
Review of Grove House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove House B&B
Ranked #6 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had never stayed in a BB before and I was a little nervous to be honest. It seemed I had absolutely nothing to worry about. We arrived and the lady that answered the door was really lovely and explained all the local surroundings to us and events that were happening. When she showed us to our room we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms would match any 4/5 star hotels that we have been to. Not an spec of of dirt to be found and everything modern and clean. Honestly, we could not fault this place one single bit. Anyone who says that this BB is too far from the town must be extremely lazy. The two nights the that we stayed we walked into the town and it was a lovely walk and not at all far. Breakfast was lovely and made to order for you. You fill out the breakfast sheet the night before select the time and when you join in the dining room the following morning the landlady meets you and brings your breakfast so not waiting around. The views from the dining room are spectacular too. Over all we would absoloutely return. And for the price? Why not. I wold choose this BB over the 4 seasons hotels in carlingfrod without a doubt. i work in the hotel industry too :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really nice place to stay 5-7 mins approx walk to all ameanities, very well kept ,clean and warm, beautyful views from dining room,well kept garden,plenty of parking .Wendy the lady of the house could not do enough for us. Would definitly reccomend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonbyr-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just stayed here this weekend and it was fantastic! Only a short walk into the quaint village of Carlingford which has so much history and gorgeous views! The room was spotless, cosy had everything you would need and had great views! Wendy the Landlady was very friendly and accommodating, She advised me on where best to eat and her recommendation did not disappoint! I will definately be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekie_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked a night and had to cancel. The landlady was quite irate and short with my wife about this, even when offered a percentage of room price (we were a few hours short of the 48hr cancellation policy).

After since reading many other reviews about the unwelcome landlady at this premises I'm glad we had to cancel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank teezer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Yes this place was clean and roomy but it was not welcoming and lacks a lounge area that has any appeal. Owner only doing the minimum. I'm sure she wanted a night off not customers. Disappointing. Would not stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for just 1 night but certainly left with a very good impression of Grove House. This property is well maintained, in fact spotless. Room was spacious and perfect for 1 Night. Good selection for breakfast the following morning. The Owner was very helpful and obliging and certainly made the time to have a few words with everyone in the morning. No hesitation about recommending the B&B for a stay in Carlingford.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Modern purpose built B&B on outskirts of Carlingford (3 min drive or 12 minute walk to centre of town). Very quiet, set in spacious open garden with view of the surrounding hills. Room moderate size but very clean, modern and tasteful. Very quiet stay (as we the only guests). Pleasant, chatty hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmandSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
75 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
721 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House B&B

Address: Grove House Grove Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $109 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing