We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming with comfortable rooms and delicious pancakes!”
Review of Grove House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove House B&B
Ranked #6 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A 5 minute walk out of town was welcome after a large dinner! Wendy was lovely. Gave us a room at the end of the house beside the back door. It felt very private. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was modern with plenty of hot water. The towels may have been a bit small for 2 tall people (small complaint). The breakfast was delicious - pancakes and bacon with real maple syrup. Wendy couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itchyfeetjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Modern, comfortable, clean and extremely well run. Great rooms with hotel size ensuites. The owner/manager was friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast was delivered on time and cooked to perfection. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

"We booked Our stay at the Grove House B&B on October 29th & 30th, 2011 as this was to be Our touching of the Eastern Coast of Ireland & of the Irish Sea & a Special winding down of Our Ireland Odyssey. Wendy greeted Us immediately & She is Most Gracious as the Hostess of She & Her Husbands' Bed & Breakfast. All is attended to, all is there for the asking, everything is Lovingly thought of & presented for AnyOne Who has the Good Fortune to book a room at Grove House B & B. The beds are very comfortable & the breakfast is delicious, once again, Wendy is there, helpful & caring, with Her Husband behind the scenes assisting as a team running this B&B very smoothly! What struck Us immediately is the Outstanding Beauty & Diversity of the topography of Carlingford! Mountains, Loughs, the Irish Sea, & the Charming Town & People of Carlingford. It is a Sparkling Jewel on the East Cost of Ireland & it delivers to the Heart Immediately! Grove House B&B is a Fabulous place to rest Ones' head & Ones' Heart. Eternal Blessing, Wendy on all that You do for Everyone at the Grove House B&B..."
Love Always & Forever,
L.A.A.F.
Pat Timmermans...Purveyor of "Endless Possibilities!"

Room Tip: "All are Good..."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

M y wife & I stayed here for a recent wedding in carlingford. Wendy the owner welcomed us into the b&b. We found her to be very friendly. It was raining & she got her husband to give us a lift down the town which was very good of them. The room was clean & very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely the next morning. Great value, I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclerick45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We booked at the Grove House on our arrival night in Ireland as we were heading north the next day. We had some problems with our arrival into the country, due to our own lack of planning. We made it to Grove House, and Wendy was MOST helpful in assisting us in sorting out our issues and resolving them. She made ecellent recommendations for dinner. The room was warm and comforting, and the breakfast the next morning was great! We only wish we had more time to spend at this lovely place, in the frindly town of Carlingford, with gracious Wendy! We will definitely book there on our next journey to the Emeral Isle!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdandJudyFromAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our room was clean and spacious with tea/coffee, towels, hair dryer. The duvets were feather and there was no blanket available for allergy sufferers - didn't notice until it was too late so slept with sheet and electric heating pad on all night. Grove House is at the end of town, and too far to walk on a rainy night with sore legs so we had to drive to/fro town for dinner. The major issue turned out to be allergy related - not sure if it was the smell of fresh paint, a cat or something else that had been in the room, but that triggered off an asthma attack which ruined the stay. As noted in other reviews, the doorbell is quite loud and can be heard throughout the house at inopportune times.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maura Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The landlady was very unwelcoming and we were made to feel llike we were being an invconvenience to her by being there. The room was fine, clean and tidy, but short on towels and the hot water took ages to come through to the tap. The breakfast was terrible, standard of food was very poor, and again the service in relation to that was frosty, we asked for extra orange juice and it was not a welcome request. We were glad to leave because of the fact we were made feel so unwelcome, and my friends and i will definately not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlingford hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
705 reviews
9.3 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#2 of 13 in Carlingford
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghan House
Ghan House
#1 of 4 in Carlingford
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House B&B

Address: Grove House Grove Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $113 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grove House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing