We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to ruin a 45th Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Great Knowley England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to ruin a 45th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We arrived at the Four Seasons, Carlingford on a Friday evening for a 2 day stay, pre-booked for several months through our agents, to be greeted by the receptionist with a sullen expression and "I'll have to go and talk to someone" plus "I've never seen an accommodation voucher before", said with attitude. She then said we were booked into the same named hotel in Monaghan (not even in the same county!) and ushered us away to a corner where the table was covered with dirty pots and plates. She didn't want their problem to be seen by other guests and was more concerned with the wedding celebrations which were ongoing. Our agents found us a good hotel in Dundalk but we had a 30 mile round trip to drive to the Anniversary meal that we had booked in a Carlingford restaurant. The receptionist at The Four Seasons Carlingford, could not have cared less and clearly only wanted us "out of her hair". Our grievance not about the cross-booking. It is about the inhospitality of our reception.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChorleyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    180
    138
    82
    51
See reviews for
171
272
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Upon our arrival we were told by the reception that she would like my credit card "to check that there were enough funds in my account to cover the cost of my room". I know it's standard procedure to take a credit card but you do not say this to a paying customer.
The price of the hotel was €85 pps. This is ridiculously expensive, then upon seeing the basic room with two small single beds, I was not impressed. I would recommend the hostel to anyone going to Carlingford. You get value for money, the staff are friendly and it's conveniently located in the village

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank dandelion1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlingford hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

very disappointed with our stay. The first room that was allocated to us was very damp and smelly. The smell of dampness along with rubber sheets was shocking Having paid €130 for one night . Reception was helpful and stated the room was perhaps over used. the 2nd room on 2nd floor was clean but dated along with bad springs in bed. The corridor leading to our room had a terrible smell of sour milk badly needs to be cleaned. Bar and food very poor an exmaple of this would be the gone off milk at breakfast. stay else where in carlingford

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank siof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We would like to compliment the Staff and Management of the Four Seasons Hotel in Carlingford. We were on mid week 4 night stay ( no weekend parties )
We were victims of the Ash when our flight to Spain was cancelled in April. On the spur of the moment we rang the Hotel to enquire availability for a few nights - we spoke to Patricia who was a perfect ambassador for the hotel - she offered us a great package
for four days. Her professional handling of our enquiry guaranteed our acceptance of her offer . On our arrival we received a warm greeting and after check in we were shown to the Taaffe suite - which was great as we assumed we would have a standard room.
The room had everything we required ( except WFI. which I told was down as they had to wait on a part to come from England!!! a little odd I think.) The hotel was busy but we were never disturbed with any noise at night.
We had dinner on two nights food and service was very good . We ate out in Carlingford on the other nights where we had a particularly good meal in Magees.
Breakfast was excellent the buffet and the attention from staff made the morning for us.
Carlingford is a lovely town to walk around and is a great base for touring into counties Down and Armagh.
dinglekerries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENJOYCountyKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent four nights in the Four season carlingford recently. It was a midweek break so i can't comment on the hen or stag parties! We were very impressed with the staff from the check in desk to the bar staff. The breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular, could have done with a better selection if you are not into the full irish. The rooms are just ok. We were upgraded on the second night to a suite which to be honest would be a bog standard room in most other hotels i have stayed in. It did have a jacuzzi bath but not a separate shower. it had a hose attached to the bath and no shower curtain. The balcony off the room was great but it is shared with the room next door which i found to be very strange especially when the patio door is the only source of fresh air in the room as there is no air con. Would i return, yes but i would ensure that i had requested an upgrade. The village is great, fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iRELAND
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

the hotel is in a fantastic location but in my opinion, that is all it has going for it - your breath is taken away by the views of the mountains and the lough and then you go into this dark and in some places dingy hotel, and it is a real disappointment. It seems to be full of weddings and hen parties so if you are looking for a quiet weekend away - this is not the hotel for you! My room was awful - beside the leisure centre so it stank of chlorine. i was woken up at 6.30am by the music being turned on in the leisure centre. No toiletries in the bathrooms, although there are tea/coffee making facilities which i always appreciate. Staff, to be fair, were very friendly, but to me this hotel does not do its location justice. Food not worth bothering about - typical bad hotel food- there are lots of nice restaurants in the village

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NabaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILDARE
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Lovely views if you were lucky enough to get a room looking out onto the lough or mountains. Staff very friendly. Night porter Brendan very nice. Would stay again. Dinner was fab and plenty of it. Would I go back? Yes I would.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KILDAREMINNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
69 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
11.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing