We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding venue. Couldn't do any more for us.”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went to my nieces wedding and stayed in a family room. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was amazing the venue beautiful. We really couldn't praise them enough. The bar b que the following afternoon was another lovely touch. Excellent all round. 5 star all the way. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Teeney71,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Adviser. We are delighted to receive your great feedback on a recent wedding you attended in our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the day and found our staff helpful and welcoming. We pride ourselves on our friendly and hard-working staff, so we are delighted to hear that this shone through on the day. I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff and Management.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future,

Best Wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 711 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Australia to Ireland for our wedding. Thankfully, we did not choose this awful hotel for our big day! We stayed here for a mini honeymoon the day after our wedding...what a mistake!!
Carlingford is an absolutely stunning town in a perfect lake-side location. The Four Seasons COULD have used this to their advantage and COULD have created a beautiful, historic, relaxing retreat instead of the ugly, cheap, industrial eye-sore that it is!
Upon check-in we were greeted by a fairly friendly girl who gave poor directions (and no offer of help with our luggage) to our room. We stayed in the Mourne room. Room itself was basic, slightly larger than your average hotel room but definitely nothing like the suite we were expecting after looking online and talking to hotel staff when we booked. Sliding doors opened on to a tiny balcony with a view primarily of the carpark and with the castle and the waterfront in the background. Big disappointment! Why not have the carpark at the rear of the hotel and make the most of that beautiful view???
My husband tried to have a shower..tried! He turned on the shower and within 5 seconds the entire bathroom was flooded and he's standing there in the tub still dry!!! The shower head is clearly too powerful and poorly placed which results in nothing but a puddle in the bathroom. The next morning I attempted to shower too and thought "if I just keep the tap on low it should be ok". Nope! Water sprayed everywhere except where it was supposed to. I had to use every towel in the room to soak it up! Not being able to shower? I mean, come on!!
Also:
Keycards did not work everytime (annoying!). Plaster peeling from parts of the ceiling in our room and also along the corridors. Paint chipping in many areas throughout hotel. Lift was shabby, old, smelly and sounded in need of a service.
That evening we decided to go for a drink in the bar. Rude staff, uncomfortable seating, too-loud tv's showing nothing but the world cup match. In the centre of the bar area is this ugly, cheap 'sculpture' that I think is meant to be some sort of interpretation of an old Irish stone dwelling but it's SO cheap and SO nasty it just looks hideous! Not to mention the fact that it's supposed to be a historic piece and it's been plonked in the centre of this large, cheaply lit, unfriendly bar in an overall industrial looking hotel...weird!!
Breakfast: Disgusting, congealed beans that had obviously been in the container for at least a day or two. Burnt sausages. Cheap, watery tomatoes. Mushrooms that tasted nothing like any mushrooms I've ever tasted (and not in a good way!). Bacon you'd need a chainsaw to cut through. As for the eggs, they looked so unappealing I didn't even order one! After sampling all of the above I decided I would pass on the hot breakfast and instead go for cereal and toast. Mistake! Muesli tasted absolutely vile..I would imagine it was newer cereal mixed in with old, gone-off stuff. Toast maker was so slow I gave up waiting and went back to my table with a glass of cheap orange (?) juice.
Upon checkout the girl asked was everything ok for us. We said nothing about the disgusting excuse for a breakfast but we did suggest she or another member of staff/management go to the Mourne room and just TRY to have a shower!
After checking out we quickly left this awful hotel and spent a glorious day strolling around the beautiful town, sampling some of the local produce in a nearby cafe, browsing for an hour or so in an amazing antique store, having a drink in an old castle turned into a bar, walking along the waterfront and enjoying the beautiful atmosphere everywhere in Carlingford, EXCEPT THIS HOTEL, has to offer.
Our mini honeymoon was by no means ruined but that is certainly not thanks to the Four Seasons and their horrible, eyesore of an establishment...it is thanks to the fact that EVERYWHERE ELSE in this area is an absolute joy to visit!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
14  Thank 630mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning of May for one night, on business. Welcome by receptionist friendly enough but could use some enthusiasm. Seemed weary and appeared a little dishevelled. Rooms are fine, nothing special. Breakfast served in area behind the main bar. I have a problem with eating in a bar in the morning, too much of a morning after the night before vibe. Was welcomed with a Hello but no direction, no suggestions, left to my own devices completely. Poor service overall at breakfast. Check out was routine, but again, lack lustre.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oonaghpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Oonaghpm,

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser.

We are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of our hotel throughout your stay. Our staff at the Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford aim to please, and to greet every guest with a warm welcome. We take pride in and have been complimented many times on how friendly and helpful our staff are. Therefore, we are sorry to hear that you feel you did not receive this. We hope any of these issues will not stop you from returning for another stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Majella,

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I would read this site quite a bit for reviews when looking for opinions on destinations and id never thought id actually post a review but on this occasion i found myself compelled to.

My wife and I stayed at the 4 seasons as part of her birthday celebrations. We wanted somewhere not too far from home, and somewhere comfortable and suitable for some downtime away from the kids for a weekend. We also had our wedding reception in this hotel 6 years ago, so we were curious to go back and revisit the area as well as the hotel.
Our stay at the Four Seasons provided everything we needed.

Making the initial booking over the phone i was so well looked after, and when we arrived it was more of the same. The hotel was hosting a wedding and there was a clear buzz about the place. The receptionist (Megan?) was welcoming & friendly, greeted us with a smile and actually conversed with us casually, seeming genuinely interested in us as guests. Its the small things that matter and first impressions were good after this initial encounter. We left our bags behind the reception as we were early for check in and made our way to the bar for a beverage. Bar Staff again were excellent and engaging and we were not waiting to be served for long. As we sat outside enjoying our drinks in the beautiful sunshine we remarked at how well the gardens had looked and reminisced of our wedding day at the same venue. This hotel was built for days like this. Sun shining, coastal location, blue skies, scenic backdrop of the mountains, people mingling and enjoying the weather and hospitality. There were a variety of clientele about the hotel, couples young and old, families with kids, large groups, a hen party, wedding guests etc. The hotel still caters for all by the looks of things and was clearly a popular spot.

We stayed in the Taffe Suite which was below the wedding suite and fronted onto the car park. We aren't a coupe that would be going through a room with a fine tooth comb looking for things that are wrong and so what we found was a roomy suite with everything we would need for our stay. Comfortable bed, neat, tidy and organised room with large bathroom facilities. It wasn't the ritz and it wasn't the Burj Al Arab but we weren't expecting that nor were we bothered that the TV wasn't a brand spanking new super-duper flat screen LCD, or that the artwork on the walls wasn't taken directly from the Tate Modern. It was what we needed to facilitate our stay and it was more than enough. Cant understand some people and their mindsets. Someone in a previous review stated that the rooms were 'Souless'. I have absolutely no idea what a soulless hotel room would even begin to look like. I find myself wondering at the mentality of someone who would go into a room and feel it was souless. I mean what are you expecting, James Brown to serenade you from the En Suite as you shower?? Some people have too much time on their hands and go out of their way to be offended.

The TV in the room hadn't got 100s of channels but then again i wasn't there to watch TV. The shower in the bathroom was extremely powerful, (pressure a bit high perhaps) and some water splashed onto the floor of the bathroom, the extractor fan maybe wasn't working 100%, there might have been a hint of re-plastering on the ceiling, The 4 poster bed might have been a tad creaky too. Did any of these things ruin my stay? No. Did any of these things prevent me from sleeping comfortably? No. Did any of these thing warrant me to complain to reception? No. Every hotel has its small problems, mostly maintenance but for the love of god, these things are regular, everyday things and they shouldn't be game-breakers in a guest's stay at a hotel. If something like that send you into fits of despair then you maybe should consider 5 star hotels only.

The Four Seasons Hotel in Carlingford is an excellently run hotel and has fantastic staff in all areas from what we experienced. The food is of high quality and plentiful. The layout, décor, ambience and atmosphere we experienced was also excellent. The accommodation is more than adequate and the leisure facilities again were spot on. What more could you want in a hotel?

Special mention (as been said before) about the staff. Receptionists and Bar/restaurant Staff should be commended on their service, manners and friendly demeanour. Also it doesn't go unnoticed how hard the manageress (i think she was the manageress) works too in all areas, tending to weddings and guests, serving drinks, shifting dirty plates from tables, moving furniture back and forth and generally tending to guests needs.

Thanks for a great stay and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom2m123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Tom2m123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Adviser. We are delighted to have welcomed you and your wife back for another stay with us, after holding your wedding reception here with us a few years ago. Our Management and staff at the Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford pride ourselves on our warm and friendly welcome to our guests, therefore we are delighted to hear that you experienced this throughout your stay. I have passed on all your lovely comments to the staff.

We appreciate your feedback on the hotel’s bedrooms, atmosphere, and décor. This type of feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve our product, and ensure that our guests are fully catered for. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of our hotel throughout your stay, and are thrilled about your comments regarding our Management and staff.

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us in the very near future,

Best Wishes,

Majella,

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff and a beautiful location!
We had our wedding in June 2014 in the gardens of the hotel and it was the most amazing day ever!
I cannot say enough about the staff, atmosphere and ease of the day. Our guests could not stop commenting on the location, service and the overall enjoyment of staying in the hotel.
Caroline and Mairead are a pleasure to deal with! Thank you so much

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi Stephen,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are absolutely delighted that you were so happy with your wedding day. I have passed your kind comments to Mairead and Caroline and also to the staff. It was such a pleasure looking after you both and your family and guests on your wedding day.

Hopefully you will visit again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Didn't stay here but went in for lunch. The Reception area and bar are very nice . The staff bar one lady in a white shirt were just not on the ball. We sat outside had to go looking for menus. Then when we placed our order we again had to go looking for the waitress. The seafood chowder was awful pretty sure the cream was gone off. The duck spring rolls again terrible not as much as one piece of duck in them just beansprouts and hoi sin sauce. We didn't finish either. When I went to pay the bill I wasn't asked once was everything ok. The plus point on this hotel is again a nice bar and a lovely garden but some of the outside chairs could do with an upgrade. Their was a cat that im sure belongs to the hotel jumping up on tables and drinking from the milk jugs!! Disgusting !!!some poor unsuspecting guest might get more than milk in their coffee!! My wife told the waitress and in fairness she was horrified. Also the limescale in the main gents loo was disgusting can't understand this when a limescale remover spray costs nothing. The staff just seemed very unhappy.We went in with a view to staying this weekend as we dont live to far away, glad we did, certainly wont be staying now!!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dublin6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful surroundings, in the lovely village of Carlingford, on the shore of the Lough, lovely for a walk along the lough shore especially on a beautiful sunny day. However, we were disappointed with the hotel, the bed room facility was very basic, my husband & I stayed for 4 nights, we were disappointed to find there was no closed door wardrobe, only an open wardrobe with hangers for hanging our clothes, no big drawers either, so we could not unpack our cases properly. We think the open wardrobe is fine if one only stays overnight or for a couple of days. The television was very small & old, the carpet could do with a good shampoo or replacement, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress was too soft. We were very disappointed with it. However, the staff were very friendly & efficient especially in the restaurant. The food was good but the main course was a little bit spoilt by too much of the same taste gravy accompanying it every dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Jentze,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of our hotel throughout your stay with us. However, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel and our service to our guests. We will most certainly take these comments on board, and ensure that our House Keeping and Maintenance Departments rectify them. We hope these issues will not stop you from returning to us in the near future for another stay,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
7 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
391 reviews
11.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range: $158 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Four Seasons Hotel, Spa & Leisure Club Carlingford lies nestled at the foot of the Cooley Mountains overlooking Carlingford Lough offering spectacular views, excellent accommodation, and fine cuisine. Accommodation in Carlingford doesn't get any better than this. With a range of activities and things to do you will be sure to have an enjoyable relaxing stay with us. We offer 58 well-appointed, newly refurbished and luxurious bedrooms. The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford specialise in providing premium quality modern Irish cuisine with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. With one of the finest Restaurants in Carlingford the newly renovated “Lough Lounge”. Discover the true meaning of a spa break in the peace and tranquillity of our Luxe Spa. Our spa treatments and array of packages have been designed to encourage total comfort and well-being. Choose from Voya Hot Stone Facials, Full body massage and more to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing