We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit over priced for what you get...”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Cork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit over priced for what you get...”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in the 4 seasons for 1 night in December 2012. The reception area on arrival is lovely and gives a great impression until you get to the rooms. The rooms are very out dated and need to be renovated, we were very disappointed when we arrived.
The shower needed a good scrub and the carpets should be taken up. Overall the room was clean but was just outdated.

The food in the hotel is lovely in the bar and breakfast was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_K_1988_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    176
    138
    82
    51
See reviews for
170
267
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed with coach party for NEW YEAR break.Rooms were very spacious and clean and shower was one of the best.Staff polite and very hepfull when medical assistance required.Meals okay but not up to the same standard as sister hotel in Monaghan.We were in Autumn Suite,order taken at 7pm,soup served 7.45 the had to wait til 8.30 for main course.No stocked bar and staff disappeared between course so you had to go to PUBLIC BAR if you wanted a drink.Hogmanay was in the PUBLIC BAR no seats were reserved for coach party so they had to hunt for seats.No atmosphere and felt as if it was any night of the week.IF WE WANTED TO SPEND HOGMANAY IN A PUBLIC BAR WE COULD HAVE STAYED AT HOME.Hotel seem more interested in the wedding side of things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOROTHY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager4, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly Happy New Year to you and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm delighted to hear that elements of your stay were pleasing such as the clean and spacious rooms, excellent showers and polite and helpful staff. However disappointed that you felt let down by others.
New Years Eve is a time to enjoy and celebrate and full entertainment had been in the bar on the evening. Just to clarify that that private dining room had been on the request of the operator and were aware there is no bar in this area and all requests sent had been dealt with as specified by their brief.
Music had been planned for the main bar and being New Years eve I do appreciate that it was busy not only with your group but other guests also. We overcame any seating issues with additional chairs and table being provided and the guests in your that I had spoken with on the evening and afterwards had all seemed to enjoy their evening, up dancing etc. So I do apologie if this fell short of your expectations. The group travels here each year for the last number of years and we have a number of repeat guests in the group.
Once again thank you for highlighting the issues and these will be addressed for the return of the tours.

Warm regards,

Caroline McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Navan Trekkers: this is our 3rd year 2 have our Christmas walk on Slieve Foye followed by dinner in Four Seasons Hotel. We're allowed use of leisure centre after walk, followed by glass of mulled wine & delicious & plentiful 4-course dinner afterwards. Highly recommend hotel & staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker30122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel offers a small but very tasty dinner menu. Staff are professional and friendly. The bedrooms are unattractive, however, albeit large and reasonably well kitted out. The restaurant decor is also functional rather than attractive. Having a gym, pool, sauna etc. is a big plus for a hotel in this price bracket. Also, the proximity to Carlingford's small but lively village is another positive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasherrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on 28th Dec as a christmas present from my hubby, and I have nothing but praise for the managment and the staff. When we first arrived we were greeted by a very warm and friendly young girl at reception who upgraded us to a beautiful room the DeLacy Suite. We then moved on to our bedroom which was wonderful. After being served by lovely young man we had a lovely dinner (and a gorgeous dessert).The breakfast was delicious, we didnt get a chance to go to the leisure club but if it is anything like the rest of the hotel im sure its in the highest of standards. Carlingford village is just a small stroll from the hotel (2 minutes) and is just beautiful. Would stay again .. hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Just Go and see for yourself !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We held our wedding reception in this hotel in December 2012 and we would like to thank this hotel very kindly for all they they did for myself and my husband. From start to finish all the staff here at this hotel went above and beyond to help make our day the most special day ever. We dealt with John (a wedding coordinator in the hotel) and he was just brilliant, he was so easy to talk to, so helpful and took any stress out of the wedding day for us. This hotel is a perfect location for a wedding or just for a break away, overlooking beautiful Carlingford lough and a two minute walk from the gorgeous village in Carlingford. I really could not praise this hotel and all the staff enough. The meal was fabulous, and everyone commented on how tasty it was and how efficiently it was served. The bridal suite was perfect, with a fab big balcony and we thought a really nice touch was when the hotel left a bottle of processo and strawberries and Butlers chocolates in our room for us at the end of the night. If you want a weekend away in a beautiful area with great service then I really cannot state enough that this is the hotel/area for you. We would like to thank John and all at the Four Seasons Carlingford for making everything so amazing on our special day, we had a ball!!! Happy New Year to everyone there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKDec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved the village. Stayed last weekend (December 2012). Check in was busy but receptionists were nice. Had dinner in the bistro as part of the package and it was lovely. P.J O'Hares pub is great. Great for families and couples also.Worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
66 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
655 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
11.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing