We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent owner run establishment”
Review of Ghan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghan House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed in Ghan House for a few nights during the first week of June, 2013. The food was great, We had lovely breakfasts and ate the "choice of six" evening meal in the lovely dining room. The owner and his staff are helpful and know the area well. We ate locally on the other nignts and the evening meals served in the restaurants in Carlingford are very good.

Room Tip: The "new" extension was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauldublinrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for appreciating what we strive to achieve! The restaurant has maintained the 2 AA Rosettes awarded 2 years ago and our Head Chef Stephane and his team are justifiably proud of maintaining their achievement.
And your 'lovely' breakfast was cooked my me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Superb central location but quiet. Very polite and friendly staff and owners. Decadent in keeping with property but touch tired. Comfortable beds and homemade biscuits in room nice touch. Breakfast good.

Room Tip: Family of 4 room 8 very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review – you are correct – we are indeed very lucky with our proximity to the town - 3 acres of walled gardens – just a tree length from Medieval Carlingford. Your ‘comfortable’ night sleep was probable because all the quietness that surrounds us or that our beds benefit from the extra thick ‘tufted’ orthopedic mattresses. We are a listed Georgian House built in 1727, brought fully up to date with new decoration in keeping with the period – rather than a glossed facsimile that ‘boutique hotels’ offer. It is hard to find a property in Ireland that has not been chinzed up or extended that makes the property deviate from the genuine Irish listed country house experience that we offer and that you obviously appreciate in your description.
Thank you once again, and yes, room 8, one of our garden bedrooms,10 yards to the side of us is my favourite bedroom also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Found Ghan House a few years ago when taking the slow road home from Dublin. It looked really interesting and even more so when I visited the website. We eventually got there yesterday and it was well wortth the wait. It's a lovely old house with friendly staff serving first class food at a very keen price. We had an excellent dinner, adequate accomodation and a wholesome breakfast for 99 euros per head (drinks extra as we expected). We stayed in the annexe which some reviewers resented, cannot understand why......maybe if it was -10 degees C., blowing a hurricane, raining cats & dogs, (or even all of the above!) one might resent leaving a roaring fire to walk 10 meters outdoors before retiring for the night. Just two little issues and they won't prevent us returning. My main course very delicious scallops were FOUR in number while my other half got enough sirloin for two. 2nd issue is also "fishy" and might be my own fault. I didn't get down for breakfast before they ran out of kippers. We will make a return visit later in the year when the restaurant is serving venison.....hope the tariff remains the same!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and noting that indeed our prices are very good for what you get;
- all our double & bedrooms have bath & shower en-suite, mountain views, family antiques, i-pod dock, 32” flat screen digital TV, the pillows are are allergy & asthma safe made from 100% cotton and 100% duck feathers, sterilised at 120°C & hence safe for those suffering from dust allergies. The bedrooms also benefit from homemade biscuits along with the standard tea/coffee facilities.
Our menu reflects the costs of the raw ingredients we source locally – and scallops at the time you were here were the same price as our beef.
And yes, venison is one of my favourite meats and will be on our menu at some time in the autumn/winter months. Our tariff has remained the same for the last 3 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed two nights and once again was disappointed with Ghan House. We LOVE Carlingford it was our third time in Ghan house. Loved it the first time couldn't fault it. Was disappointed the second stay but decided to give it another try. The service was very poor. No friendly greeting on arrival no information given about facilities, services etc. ate in the restaurant one night food was ok. Breakfast dining room shabby. Dirty window
Sills, fridge curtain hanging off the rail. Our bedroom was ok very hard to close the door as the handle kept falling off. Only one double towel on the second day. Feels that the place isn't loved anymore. On a good note The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marysimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It’s always good to get a review like yours to keep us on our toes. Having just received a mountain of great 5/5 reviews and a string of 10/10 reviews on a booking site, it just shows what high standards we have set ourselves and if we occasionally slip – which you quite correctly pointed out, that it gets noticed.

Suffice to say that our good reputation is only as good as good as the last customer – of which many, many have recently been very satisfied – on your occasion, we fell short and I sincerely apologise.

Breakfast was in the magnificent high ceiling ballroom, which most guests comment on its’ splendor, and large windows and originality - looking out onto our gardens, the lough and Slieve Foy mountain. And yes, since you have been our windows have been cleaned – you must have been here just before they were! Please, if you stay with us again, we are all very happy to talk to you and correct anything you may see that may help improve us.

I’m sorry we didn’t elaborate more that we have in the area when you arrived – guests that have been with us before are more inclined to know what they want to do when the arrive. We are a fountain of knowledge on the area – we don’t know everything, but are certainly well able to let our new guests know our favorite spots.
We do all love what we do here and know we are very privileged to work in such a beautiful house and live in great little town.
Thank you again for keeping us on our toes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the moment we visited Ghan House we knew it was the place for us to get married in and it did not disappoint and managed to exceed our expectations.
All the team were amazing before and on the day. The ease of organising everything with them was truly remarkable and nothing was too much trouble. On our day the team were there when ever we or our guests needed them however at the same time it not feel like they were over crowding us in that the venue truly felt like it was our home for the day.
The relaxed yet professional manner is unique and truly appreciated by all our guests including our (nervous) selves. Nothing was ever too much even when Paul himself had to arrive at 7 am to cook us breakfast on the morning we were leaving early for our honeymoon.The food was absolutely amazing on our wedding day and every other day.
All our guests loved the venue and complimented every aspect of Ghan House.
We really can not thank everyone from the team front of house to all the team behind the scenes for making our wedding day and 3 day stay in Ghan House remarkable.
Can not wait to return in April for our 1st Anniversary and hopefully for many years to come!
Darren & Lisa April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaM046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

The wedding day is such an important day and sometimes venues get carried away with ‘pomp & circumstance’ whereas we firmly believe the event is all about the people….the more relaxed everyone is, the better & more socialable the wedding day will be. It’s just how we would want it!
I seem to remember you kindly left a little present for my little boy – which in the daze of cooking you an early breakfast I forgot to thank you for – so thanks to you - for the present and making your day an enjoyable one for us also!
We all love Ghan House and especially the gardens when the weather allows! We pride ourselves on our service and food – whether it be for 2 or 102 guests.
Hence we really appreciate our guests enjoying what we do every day!
See you in April!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for one night, in June. We stayed in room 4, where the bed is 250 years old! Our stay was magical! The food was superb and the house is really quite wonderful. A treasure in Carlingford Lough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. The bed you slept in was actually the one my grandmother – Lucinda Eleanor Woodney, was born in, in the original family home just 100 metres away from our castellated walls in middle of Carlingford.
I’ve already passed your kind comments about your dinner in our restaurant to our head chef and his team. Treasure is hard to find but usually worth the effort once found….I’m glad you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding celebration in June at Ghan House for 70 friends and family. Choosing Ghan House was the best decision we could have made. I have never seen such professional care and attention delivered with such warmth and hospitality. Everyone at Ghan House went to such great lengths to make our day special. At every stage of our preparations, help was at hand to assist and advise us.

The food was superb, both in taste and presentation. I have never had food this good at a wedding! Our guests were really impressed with the intimate feel to the place - a home from home. The mood was so informal and unhurried.

I cannot recommend Ghan House highly enough as they made our wedding day extra special.

Billy & Stephanie (June 14th 2013)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Can I return the compliment….You were both such a delight to meet prior to your wedding, during your wedding preparations and to look after on your wedding day. And that includes your guests!
Thank you for a wonderful time from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
75 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
719 reviews
1.6 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#5 of 13 in Carlingford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghan House

Address: 1 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carlingford
Price Range: $186 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghan House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghan House is a fine example of an early Georgian House, built in 1727 - just 1 hour from Dublin & Belfast and a tree length from Medieval Carlingford. 4* AA rated bedrooms (all double & twin bedrooms have bath AND shower en-suite and mountain views), 2 AA Rosette restaurant and 2 private dining rooms for special occasions. Exclusive use of the whole of Ghan House and gardens can also be enjoyed for your very special unique event. - Rated 'Best 100 Places to Stay in Ireland' by John & Sally McKenna's Guide to Ireland - Winners of 'Best Country House in Ireland 2017' by Irish Hotel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing