We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy a Glass of Wine overlooking the Lough
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a Glass of Wine overlooking the Lough
Top floor bedroom to balcony with seating and amazing views Italian Design Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Enjoy a Glass of Wine overlooking the Lough
Top floor bedroom to balcony with seating and amazing views
Italian Design Kitchen
View of Slieve Foy from your Sun Lounger
Unwind and enjoy the views
Table extends to seat 14 and All those doors open up onto Terrace
Loads of really comforatble seating
Enjoy a BBQ on the Terrace
Private Internal courtyard
Family Bath with Shower
TV Unit with back lighting
Third Floor Shower room
Relax for a Coffee in the Courtyard
Courtyard Bedroom, chilled out and relaxed
Twin Room
Breath Taking Views of the Lough
Courtyard bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stanley R
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful holiday”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we travelled to Limekiln as a family group of 15 over 4 generations aged from 8 to 67. The property and location were ideal and suited each and everyone of us. Gearoid was extremely helpful and made sure very need was met. The house was large spacious and airy with lots of outside space enabling us to take advantage of the fine weather. This is one of the best rentals we have had in our time (last 20 years in Ireland Scotland & England). I much appreciated having deposit returned so quickly and also Gearoid's kindness and patience throughout. Limekiln is a lovely comfortable house in a beautiful area and we had a really enjoyable holiday.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dubtracy
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house no problems at all”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here a few weeks ago for 2 nights for a hen weekend, it's in a great location, 5 min walk to the pubs, couldn't fault it at all, only thing was we passed it 2/3 times not realising it was it, really spacious house lovely views, owners where lovely, we had to get extra bedding and they called back to get it for us no problem, later we realized we needed more so they called back again, I cant fault limekiln at all, best place to stay if visiting carlingford!!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elle_M7
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Spacious & great location - perfect for our girl's weekend”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

There was just eight of us staying here for a hen party so there was more than enough room. The house was relatively easy to find with ample parking behind it. Lots of nice outdoor space with a private courtyard and balconies - the view is amazing from the big windows! We met the owner on arrival and he was very friendly and accommodating.
The only thing we felt we may have needed in this house was.. soap and tea towels!
All in all a fabulous stay for our girl's weekend. Large living room included sky tv and x-box. I wouldn't recommend it for small children unless stair gates were an option! Extremely clean house with ample towels provided and comfortable beds.
Definitely reasonable and a great stay.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyMo_10...
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect party!”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When I was planning my best friend's hen I wanted to throw her a glamorous shindig that would exclude all things traditionally "hen party".

The Limekiln was perfectly located, equipped and styled for a classy girls' weekend. Lovely time had by all and host could not have been better!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyL250
Trim, Meath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Joy to stay in!”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our visit to Carlingford Lough was a chance for us as an extended family to all get together under the same roof for a few days. We choose this house mainly because it appeared to be large enough, looked lovely on Tripadvisor and true to word the house was lovely with loads of room for everyone, the decor was bright and very modern and finished to a high standard. The views from the large windows are phenomenal.
A short 5 minute walk takes you into the center of lovely Carlingford. Where there are lovely places to eat and drink, quaint shops and lots of walking trails.
I don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay in upon visiting Carlingford.
On our arrival we found a lovely welcome pack which was a lovely thought from our proprietor Georaid who was very helpful, easy to contact and by no means intrusive. Basically he left us to it, and as a result we had a fabulous holiday!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was lovely.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2014
Hi there,

We are delighted you had a good stay and a great experience at Limekiln. We try to make sure all our guests have the best stay possible. Thank you and you are very welcome back at any stage, if the opportunity arises!!

Regards,

Gearoid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMilb...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house with stunning views and well suited for a family holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this house for a week with our two young boys as well as our friends and their kids and there was more than enough room for us all. The living accomodation is spread over three floors. The ground floor had 3 big bedrooms with a bathroom and one room has an ensuite, the 1st floor is the very spacious liviing area and the top floor has two further big bedrooms and bathroom. This design of house suited our two families greatly and when you combine the house with great views and a great location in easy walking distance to the shops, pubs etc it all made for a great holiday. Gearoid the owner was very helpful and answered all our questions in a very prompt manner. Parking at the building is not a problem and there are plenty of nice places to eat and drink at so you have plenty of choices.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this house and location to others when considering a short break away.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing