We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal/service lacking”
Review of The Baytree

The Baytree
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a beautiful little personal restaurant right in the center of a Medieval Village called Carlingford. Co. Louth. We provide a wonderful array of beautiful meals... Carlingfords only Michelin rated restaurant. We also have 7 beautiful B & B rooms located on our premises. We serve not only the freshest of produce, fish, meats and everything else on our premises. Our poly tunnel supplies us a lot of the year with fresh herbs, salad leaves from our garden which is also on site. We serve freshly ground coffee and lovely cups of tea in the morning and it is a delight to walk through our little garden on a summers evening. We have 2 private function rooms which can hold up to 40. Christenings, Communions, Birthdays, all occasions, specializing in our service for pre-wedding meals.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal/service lacking”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated restaurant. Loved the trees inside. Staff fairly friendly at beginning of meal which was delicious. My husband raved about his. Would have been nice to be asked if we were enjoying meal. Also had to ask for bill a few times. Left money on table. No one said goodbye or thank you. Call me old fashioned but if I Spend €90 in someone's restaurant it would be nice to be acknowledged. Think they where preoccupied with a birthday party of 10 but even so... Also didn't like unisex toilet straight off floor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grogblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    50
    12
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really positive experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday we arrived in carlingford late in the evening.we were fortunate to get a table at the bay tree following a few refusals in other restaurants as they had stopped serving.we were treated with the utmost courtesy by young waiter.on the menu we choose the special menu.this was very good value and a Chilean wine that we enjoyed.at the end of the night we met the chef/owner who entertained us with local knowledge and a glass of wine on the house.this place tick all the boxes for us would recommend it with thumbs up.Anne and Fergal

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annefarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor customer service from management.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Firstly management made us feel very unwelcome on arrival, and after a mediocre meal at best we were followed down the street and wrongly accused of not paying for our meal, to which we did not even receive an apology. After being questioned on the street and producing a receipt I was still asked to go back to the restaurant to clarify payment with the manager. Everyone makes mistakes but no apology or acknowlement of their error was made by the manager. This was highly unprofessional and embarrassing. In all, I was extremely disappointed with the whole experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Deserves better patronage”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a fantastic meal in this little gem. The decor is lovely, the service was very good and the place had a nice atmosphere. It is a shame there were not more customers, but then again it was a Monday night. The choices were limited but something for everyone. We were also staying in the B & B above (Belvedere) so had breakfast here too. It was just excellent. Hope you found some nice wine in Spain to add to your already lovely range.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You can't believe everything you read......”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As a senior Trip Advisor reviewer I am obviously a big fan of this reviewer/consumer- led website. But sometimes there's more to on-line reviews than being #1, #3 or #15 for that matter. We were visiting Carlingford as a family treat (staying at the Ballymascalan Hotel - €60 return taxi fare starts to make a night out pretty expensive before you start...., but that's another story) - our eldest daughter home from NZ for a few weeks. To make it a break to remember, we wanted to eat well and so I consulted Trip Advisor and booked the #1 rated - The Oystercatcher. An hour later my wife rang to say a friend had been to the Bay Tree (#3 rated) and said it was highly recommended. As we were staying two night I booked the Bay Tree for the second.
While there are only two places separating the two eateries, they were in reality in different classes. The Oystercatcher offers good, traditional, seafood-orientated cooking, but not exactly exciting. Three of the party had the house speciality - Cataplana (a Portuguese fish-dish); unfortunately the steak was poor - tough and most was left. There was a liberal smattering of a sweet chilli sauce in several of the dishes, and we debated whether this was out of a jar? The wine list is adequate but contains nothing other than the "staples" you come to expect of a many restaurants up and down Ireland. Total bill €45/head for seven diners, including drinks.
The following night at the Bay Tree was a much more notable dining experience. The fact that the chef patron, Conor Woods, had trained with Michael Deane, a former Michelin-star chef in Belfast, should have been a better indication of what was to come. Excellent presentation for all courses - the goats cheese soufflé and mille feuille stand out. Talking of the goats cheese starter, this arrive with many wonderful embellishments - but also was liberally sprinkled with walnuts. To most diners this would have probably been an interesting contrast, but for my nut-allergy daughter it was a major no-no. When this was brought to the waitress's attention, it was replaced immediately, without fuss. Another highlight was the seafood cocktail starter - with crab and lobster; a million miles from the usual ubiquitous, but tasteless prawn cocktail. And of course the wine list - again much superior than the previous evening - the Macon Lugny and Cote du Rhone were excellent for wines at the lower end of the price range. Under €40/head, with same amount of wine, though the teenagers didn't have starters.
So, there you have it. Two restaurants, one hundred yards and two Trip Advisor rating positions apart. The Oystercatcher is a perfectly good Top 5 eatery which will satisfy most diners, but it is decidedly not the #1 restaurant in Carlingford; that title surely belongs to the Bay Tree. I hope time will reverse the positions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baytree also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to The Baytree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing