We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

The Bay Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $33
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a beautiful little personal restaurant right in the center of a Medieval Village called Carlingford. Co. Louth. We provide a wonderful array of beautiful meals... Carlingfords only Michelin rated restaurant. We also have 7 beautiful B & B rooms located on our premises. We serve not only the freshest of produce, fish, meats and everything else on our premises. Our poly tunnel supplies us a lot of the year with fresh herbs, salad leaves from our garden which is also on site. We serve freshly ground coffee and lovely cups of tea in the morning and it is a delight to walk through our little garden on a summers evening. We have 2 private function rooms which can hold up to 40. Christenings, Communions, Birthdays, all occasions, specializing in our service for pre-wedding meals.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner decided to stop here for dinner after some shopping in Newry; our first time visiting Carlingford. We had a starter and main course here - both delicious. The food was excellant! The staff were very friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkdory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    50
    12
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Got the VIP treatment”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were the first to be seated for the dinner service and were hesitant to make our choices from the menu.....
No problem for the helpful waitress; after a quick word with the chef, we were tucking into a five course "chef recommends" tasting menu, offered at under €40 pp.
All offerings were beautifully presented and well cooked - and consumed with relish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rostourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Steak cooked to perfection!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely meal with 7 others last weekend at this cosy little restaurant in Carlingford, County Louth.
Good food always leads to a good night, and we weren't disappointed....
Myself and my wife both ordered steak and asked for it well done, and it was very tasty for us both and cooked to perfection.
The starters and desserts were also very nice, and there was a good deal in these recession times for a 3 course set menu option.
Overall we all had a very enjoyable time, and have told all our friends that the bay tree is certainly worth a visit, I am still visualising and virtually tasting that tasty steak! more please!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mícheál M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I had a delicious meal in The Bay Tree recently. The main course was delicious and the dessert to die for! The cost wasn't cheap but was reasonable.The service was good and the waitress helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryrose42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs FL
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Rarely does one have the experience of eating a work of art, but the three course meal we had here at The Bay Tree last month was just that. I wish I'd taken a photo of it. Not only was everything colorfully and artistically arranged and shaped, but perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious. It began with huge Carlingford oysters grilled with garlic, spinach and goat cheese. We then had local lamb shank that fell off the bone and melted in the mouth, surrounded by the most beautiful assortment of veggies I've ever seen. Desserts were equally amazing. The second night we ate elsewhere and will always regret that decision.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crabcakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree Restaurant also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to The Bay Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing