We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baytree

The Baytree
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a beautiful little personal restaurant right in the center of a Medieval Village called Carlingford. Co. Louth. We provide a wonderful array of beautiful meals... Carlingfords only Michelin rated restaurant. We also have 7 beautiful B & B rooms located on our premises. We serve not only the freshest of produce, fish, meats and everything else on our premises. Our poly tunnel supplies us a lot of the year with fresh herbs, salad leaves from our garden which is also on site. We serve freshly ground coffee and lovely cups of tea in the morning and it is a delight to walk through our little garden on a summers evening. We have 2 private function rooms which can hold up to 40. Christenings, Communions, Birthdays, all occasions, specializing in our service for pre-wedding meals.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having read reviews of The Bay Tree our trip to Carlingford had to include this restaurant. Expectations were high and this place certainly delivered. We were a party of 12 the restaurant was full and still the the service was very fast. The restaurant has a warm cosy atmosphere the staff are courteous, friendly and very accommodating. The scallop starter was beautiful. Some reviews I've read have said that the steak was not cooked to order, out of a table of 12 half ordered steak with requests varying from rare to extra well done, e'one got a steak cooked exacly as ordered. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone it was one of the highlights of our trip to Carlingford !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    45
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm still full...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic restaurant, staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was a great venue and the food was incredible. We stayed in the Bed and Breakfast connected to the restaurant and every aspect of it was just perfect. Great rooms, great food, great staff and very reasonable. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the gem in carlingford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

what a little treasure our first visit to dine in carlingford and we certainly were not dissappointed from the freshly baked bread, the plump mussel starter and the absolutely perfectly cooked monkfish through to the tantalising sticky toffee PERFECTION this is a restaurant at the top of their game dont take my word for it try if yourself and as arnie would say i'll be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skanker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for a meal & overnight stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have just returned from dinner and an overnight stay at the bay tree and I have to say we had a really great time, the food was great, the staff were really nice and accomodation was really nicely decorated and very comfortable..... it really is well worth a visit, we are already planning our next one !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bernie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited the Bay Tree after viewing its no. 1 rating on trip advisor. Really looked forward to having a lovely meal but unfortunately that was not to be - my husband ordered well done steak, the chef apparently is not familiar with what this entails as it was cooked medium rare and I think he is still chewing on it! The monkfish was fair but not enough - still hungry on finishing. The staff are not very personable and perform the basic table duties and it seems far from their interest as to whether anybody is actually enjoying their meal! We weren't asked once if we were ok or if the food was to our satisfaction. Overall would not recommend - worst restaurant in Carlingford, also SO completely over priced. Even if every other restaurant was fully booked - steer clear, the chipper van on the corner is possibly a more favourable option.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Allebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baytree also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to The Baytree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing