We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Carlingford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlingford House
Ranked #2 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is your ideal retreat to get away from it all. A very warm welcome was given by our hosts. The bedroom was large and very tastefully decorated. The bed was soooooo comfy! The en suite had a large shower with plenty of warm water and soft towels. Breakfast was gorgeous!!! Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and juice awaited us. I am a bit of a healthy eater, so asked for porridge, which wasn't mentioned on the menu. This was not a problem at all. Relaxing music played in the background while our host kept us topped up with tea/coffee and toast. All in all, a most pleasurable stay. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisechristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your super review. Making people feel welcome is a priority with us and we hope you felt that. Perhaps we will see you back again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
106
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at Carlingford houe for four nights recently. Its a smashing period house just outside the centre of Carlingford. The lovely couple who own it, Peter and Irene, could not have been more helpful. We had a nice ensuite room overlooking the front of the house. The breakfasts were great with a good selection of cereals and the option of a full Irish fry up to set you up for the day. Good traditional hospitality. Would stay here again no question.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks Roy, Great to hear from you and happy with your stay with us. Maybe we will see you again next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a fantastic stay in Carlingford House this weekend, all kicked off by the friendly hosts and welcoming open fire in the hallway as you walk through the door.
The house is a lovely old period house that the owners have obviously refurbished to a very high standard, but have kept alot of the old features, which is a nice touch. PArking to the front of the house is ample, so no issues with where to put the car.

Our room was to the front of the house and very large and comfortable, with large ensuite bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Tea and coffee facilities in the room with complimentary biscuits and kitkats were a nice little touch. The bed was large and comfy, and the TV had the usual local chanels, but in Carlingford there's lots to do, so you'll probably be in PJ's or Dan's cafe instead of watching the 'box!

Overall, very pleased we booked and will be back if staying in Carlingford. Well done Carlingford House!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenefinegan, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, August 5, 2015
Thank you for such a glowing review, much appreciated, We do do our best to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant, welcoming and warm on a cold November afternoon. The owners are lovely folks and couldn't do enough for us. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others. Also just far enough out of town to avoid the weekend rabble. To paraphrase Arnie "we'll be back".

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Sergio, Yes I hope you "will be back" Thanks a million for your kind thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Carlingford House is right in the centre of this lovely little town, but mind which room you stay in. Room number 5 is very small with a minute shower/ loo and washbasin. It has a fire escape steps outside the bedroom window which in a state of emergency would be hard for other residents to get to- as when we were there - we locked our bedroom door. Even if you did manage to get to the window, you would need to be quite nimble to duck under the sash window and get to safety.
It was also rather expensive, €70.00 for the night, normally it would cost more but then you would get breakfast. We were there when the owners were away, and they had a reduced service. Not memorable.

Room Tip: Try picking room no. 3. not no. 5. small and pokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 18julie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We feel this review is very unfair. Yes you are right the room is small but cosy and comfortable.
Carlingford House is very old and not purpose built, therefore sometimes we have had to compromise on room size in order to offer our guests en-suite rooms. People looking for old charm will appreciate this. The bathroom is just fine, with standard shower and we feel the comments in this regard unjustified. The Georgian sash window is large and exit through it is not a problem. The house is fitted with a professional fire alarm system, alarm bells & alarmed mechanism on landing which gives us access to this room if the guests are out, if in they will be quickly asked to exit the room. This emergency exit would not be in use if not approved by the fire authorities. Breakfast was not available on this occasion as we were taking a break but wished to keep the house open. We have tea/coffee, biscuits & kitkat in all rooms. Had you had breakfast with us I can assure you and anyone reading this response you would not be disappointed.

We thank you for staying with us and hope you enjoyed the pleasures Carlingford has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Carlingford House for one night and it couldn't have been nicer. The room was smallish but didn't lack in a thing. Comfortable bed, bathroom well outfitted and very clean. Our hosts were absolutely lovely and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland. Location is very good--probably a one-minute walk to pubs and restaurants. A very pretty, interesting town. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifebeginsat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A beautiful house with great character. The owners are so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is amazing! And Carlingford is a fantastic little town. I would definitely stay here again or recommend it to a friend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Yes you are right Carlingford is a great place to visit and to live, we love it.

Many thanks for your lovely review, Much appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
66 reviews
8.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
1.5 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghan House
Ghan House
#1 of 4 in Carlingford
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlingford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlingford House

Property: Carlingford House
Address: | Co. Louth, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of Carlingford's most luxurious Guest Houses, it is truly a magical residence, that blends the warmth of a country home with the style and luxury of contemporary accommodation. It is a beautiful destination offering warm and comfortable guest accommodation & sitting room with selection of paperback books to brows through.With off street parking and within walking distance of all local amenities. Golf 3 km. Dublin & Belfast just over an hour away its an easy hop for a laid back week-end. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlingford House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing