We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Carlingford”
Review of Carlingford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlingford House
Ranked #1 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in May. Very nice and comfortable inn. Peter and Irene are gracious hosts and we enjoyed talking with them. Everything was spotless, room was very nice in size and decor. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower. I believe we were in Room 3. It was on the front of the house. Our only issue was the bed size. We thought we had reserved a king which we have at home, but this bed seemed to be more like our queen size bed in the US. But it was fine and very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious. There were many options to choose from and it was all very good.
Parking was on site. Easy walk to restaurants, pubs and shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review you have given us we really appreciate it. We always try to accommodate any guest request. In this case you asked for a king size bed which you got. We think perhaps you are confused by European sizes which are different from USA. However we hope you had a lovely stay with us and will recommend us to other travelers coming our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of May. We were visiting the Blues Festival at Warrenpoint but wanted to stay somewhere quiter and Carlingford fitted the bill.
We really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The accommodation was very good, as was breakfast and we really enjoyed the village as well and ended up spending more time there than in Warrenpoint.
We would happily go back and will do so when we're next in the area (or even next time we visit Belfast). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is our second time to stay in Carlingford but first with Irene & Peter - what an absolute treat ! The rooms were gorgeous and the breakfast was a long, lingering relaxing feast ! Can't recommend it enough - we stayed there with friends and we are already booking in for next year. Great central location also - just minutes from the town and from the start of most of the hikes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford_House, Owner at Carlingford House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hello Dinoboys
What a great review, thank you so much. Love to have you back sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend Carlingford House to everyone who visits Carlingford. The rooms are fantastic and Peter the host done everything and more to make our stay comfortable. I can't wait to visit again. Easily 5 stars

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickson799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our recent stay here, very nice rooms, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean building and incredibly charming hosts. If you go walking in the Mournes ask for tips, Irene is a regular walker and Peter knows all the cafes! The house, with very generous and tasty breakfast is less than 5 minutes walk to the Oyster Catcher restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Very lovely home, comfortable rooms and gracious hosts. Breakfast was bountiful and we were given great travel advice by Peter. The home in just off the city center so walking into town or to John's castle was easy. Carlingford is a charming village.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a family get to gether in April, I cannot recommend this B & B enough. Pat & Irene, our hosts, made us very welcome on arrival. The house is an old georgian house with marvellously big rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic, helped by the ever cheerful Pat. The house is in the village, just park the car and you are within walking distance of pubs, restaurants, shops, harbour etc. There are some lovely walks in the Cooley mountains which can be access directly from the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
705 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#2 of 13 in Carlingford
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlingford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlingford House

Address: | Co. Louth, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of Carlingford's most luxurious Guest Houses, it is truly a magical residence, that blends the warmth of a country home with the style and luxury of contemporary accommodation. It is a beautiful destination offering warm and comfortable guest accommodation & sitting room with selection of paperback books to brows through.With off street parking and within walking distance of all local amenities. Golf 3 km. Dublin & Belfast just over an hour away its an easy hop for a laid back week-end. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlingford House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing