We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulous Hosts”
Review of Carlingford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlingford House
Ranked #1 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a family get to gether in April, I cannot recommend this B & B enough. Pat & Irene, our hosts, made us very welcome on arrival. The house is an old georgian house with marvellously big rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic, helped by the ever cheerful Pat. The house is in the village, just park the car and you are within walking distance of pubs, restaurants, shops, harbour etc. There are some lovely walks in the Cooley mountains which can be access directly from the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 1 night in this lovely old house in the beautiful village of Carlingford. We were warmly welcomed by the host Peter and shown to a lovely room. Bed very comfortable and the ensuite was a good size with lots of towels and toiletries. There was also a tray with snacks etc. Following a great nights sleep, we had a wonderful cooked to order breakfast. There was also lots of fresh fruit, natural yougart with honey, cereals etc. Lots of toast, bread, tea and coffee was offered. Irene was the cook and she certainly provided a great start to our day . The house is beautiful and so well presented.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the largest , room 2 is medium. One room at the end of the corridor is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose to stay at Carlingford House based on a friend's recommendation and I have to say it was a good call. We were welcomed by Peter and shown to our lovely room (no. 3) which was very spacious, bright (courtesy of 2 big sash windows) and with a nice view of the priory across the road. There was also a roomy closet and en-suite which was spotlessly clean. After a night out it was nice to get back to our room and avail of the tea/coffee making facilities. Having had a good night's sleep in the very comfy bed we went down to breakfast in the dining room. There was a good choice of fruit salads and cereals and of course the full Irish, which went down a treat. Irene introduced herself and together with Peter you couldn't ask for a friendlier couple of hosts. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend here and really enjoyed our stay in Carlingford House and Carlingford itself as a town. The house is perfectly located, within walking distance of everything but in a lovely quiet area.

Our hosts were very obliging. Professional and friendly without being 'in your face' and really focused on pampering us and taking care of us to their full ability. For example offering to give us a lift to the base of a mountain walk; Insisting on laying out a full selection of fresh fruit and cereals on day two, when we had said that it was unnecessary; taking the time to talk to us about places to visit and things to do.

Our room was decorated beautifully and whilst this Guesthouse is a period property, there were all the modern conveniences you would expect in a five star hotel . Beautiful modern en-suite, satellite TV, Wi-Fi. I think it's worth mentioning that the bed and mattress is top quality also.

Whilst it may seem bizarre to others, but I was delighted that there were matching wooden hangers, a case rack and packaged soap (I hate an unpackaged bar of soap, I like to be reassured that nobody else has used the soap before me!) even the toilet roll was folded over in a V....yes I know, I am an obsessive creature, but the last paragraph of this review will explain why!

Bonus for me was bottled water, biscuits on the tea/coffee tray, mini-shampoo/shower gel (thankfully because we forgot to bring shampoo), lovely little touches.

Breakfast was an experience in itself. Food cooked to order (exceptional quality meat and very tasty I might add!) and such a selection of food! For the first time ever, this meal became an enjoyable drawn out affair for us.

Firstly, there was a multitude of fruit. Fresh fruit salad with blueberries, apple, grapes, and a variety of other fruit; a separate selection of the following: prunes; peaches; grapefruit; melon
Cereals: about five different types presented beautifully in individual bowls (not a Tupperware box or commercial package in sight)
Yoghurts: Selection of yoghurts but the queen of all yoghurts for me was the 'house honey & Greek yogurt'....I should have gotten that recipe!


I have to explain why I am so obsessive and critical of fine details, I myself ran a B&B for many years and am very aware of the importance of giving your time to the guest, of quality accommodation, of cleanliness, of the smallest of details, but I can only take a bow to Peter & Irene Finnegan who have mastered the art of running an exceptional establishment.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful and well kept home. Carlingford is a cute town. The house is in a great location, close to places to eat. Also close to a great antique shop. Make sure you give yourself time to browse. Easy drive to Dublin airport for our return trip home. We were sorry to leave. Peter and Irene are lovely people. They make you feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious, made to order and served with a smile and conversation. Our room was very comfortable and pretty. Bathroom was very clean and up to date. Carlingford is a good base for touring all the wonderful sites between Dublin and Carlingford.
I can highly recommend this lovely home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Peter and Irene could not have been any more helpful than they were. The hospitality is second to none in this beautiful house situated about a 4 minute walk from the centre of Carlingford. The breakfast was delicious and served perfectly by Peter who always had a wee story to tell you or he would give you a bit of history of the house and Carlingford. We stayed for 4 nights in a very spacious Room 3 and was sorry to leave. We will definitely be back for some more of being spoiled!

Room Tip: Room 3 is the biggest room in the house..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a truly brilliant place to stay. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and very near the centre of Carlingford. We went there to celebrate a friends 30th birthday party in the sailing club and Frank the owner actually dropped us down to the sailing club which was beyond the call of duty really. The rooms are spotless and very well kitted out. You will have a great sleep - the matresses are super - Irene had them specifically made for comfort. Breakfast was superb and we really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend Carlingford House. Thanks Peter and Irene!

Room Tip: Ask for room three at the front of the building - it is larger than the other ones I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
705 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#2 of 13 in Carlingford
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlingford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlingford House

Address: | Co. Louth, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of Carlingford's most luxurious Guest Houses, it is truly a magical residence, that blends the warmth of a country home with the style and luxury of contemporary accommodation. It is a beautiful destination offering warm and comfortable guest accommodation & sitting room with selection of paperback books to brows through.With off street parking and within walking distance of all local amenities. Golf 3 km. Dublin & Belfast just over an hour away its an easy hop for a laid back week-end. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlingford House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing