We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restaurant with great seafood”
Review of Magee's Bistro

Magee's Bistro
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
478 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant with great seafood”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

On a Saturday night, this place was buzzing. And people had dressed up to make a night of it. Good cocktails and great local fish....recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    73
    32
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had the pleasure to dine in this restaurant a few weeks ago and I have to say it was top class. The food was just beautiful (Id recommend the Salmon in puff pastry) and the staff where very helpful ( my wife is pregnant and they had no problems catering to her needs and mixing up all sorts of virgin cocktails to make sure she didn't miss out on the fun within our group). Every member of staff where so polite and our waitress was very helpful with recommending what to eat. The portions are huge and you certainly wont leave hungry. If your in the Carlingford area I would suggest a trip to MaGees. i for one can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCCB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food but terrible service”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It is disappointing to have to write this review but the service we received in this restaurant on Saturday night was simply appalling.The only saving grace was the food itself, which I none of us could fault, so top marks to the chefs. A group of 15 of us had booked a meal here to celebrate our friend getting married. We range in age from 29-70 and we were dressed smartly with only small pink headdresses as accessories. The Bride-to-Be was wearing a small veil and a pink sash. We had just got seated and the manageress came over and immediately told the Bride-to-Be to remove her headdress as it was against restaurant policy. She told her to tell everyone else to do the same. This is fair enough and I respect that there are policies in place but the tone in which this manageress spoke to the Bride-to-Be and the rest of our party was unacceptable, patronising and downright rude. When she was justifying why we had to do this she stated that 'people pay at least £32 for courses here, this is a well thought of establishment you know'...well we were paying that money too so what was her point?! Anyway, we agreed to remove our headdresses and planned to enjoy our meal and if possible avoid this snooty staff member. However, the service we received from here on in was less than impressive - 2 menus were given to the table( between 15 of us) and we asked twice for more menus, eventually 2 more arrived, still not enough for everyone to have a look. We ordered our starters but it took over 45mins for anything to arrive, and when we politely asked what the hold up was they just fired more bread baskets at us! one member of the party is an insulin dependent diabetic and was beginning to worry as she had injected in preparation for receiving a meal but nearly an hour had passed and no starters had arrived. She explained this to a staff member and eventually our starters arrived, however we had to ask for side plates as there were none set at 3 places (the waitress brought back 2 plates....) and another 2 people in the party had to ask for cutlery! we arrived at 8.30 and we only were able to start our main courses at 10.50pm. Not ideal. There seemed to be a lot of staff on but a lot of problems with service. The manageress who was straight over to scold us at the start of the night never came near us again, unsurprisingly she didn't apologise for the horrendous service! As a final point (and because some of the group are teachers, this annoyed us!) the spelling and grammatical errors on the noticeboards inside and outside of this establishment look totally unprofessional.
The food was great but I'm afraid that because of the terrible service I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LRF19832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Food was great, lovely fresh seafood. Bit pricey and the service could have been better. Very good though.

Helpful?
Thank Mise_eile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Eat here regularly even though it takes me an hour to get here but the food is delicious, the staff friendly and the atmosphere perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AccomoViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magee's Bistro also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to Magee's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing