We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Belvedere House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belvedere House
Ranked #2 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

we stayed here last night.we had a lovely experience.it is a very nice place and the staff are so down to earth.we will definitely come here again.we highly recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisadavid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This little restaurant was very welcoming, warm & comfortable. Excellent service. There was a variety of options on the menu and wine list. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Carlingford.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stayed here with my husband in early November of this yr, i have never been a fan of B&B's.....BUT...this place has totally changed my views, it was warm welcoming and had all the little personal touches that u don't get with a hotel, each room has its own name and is individual and beautifully decorated, . the breakfast was freshly cooked and they have real coffee, not any crap from a jar, didn't get the chance to eat dinner here during my stay as we were attending a function in a nearby location, but my friend had a function here in september and sang its praises. the location is perfect for taking a leisurely stroll through the village and walk along the strand...will defo be revisiting in the very near future, and have recommended this place to many people....can't wait to return, keep up the fabulous work x

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainerut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Carlingford. Not the least thanks to Belvedere House and the staff there. The food there was among the very best we got in all Ireland and the staff's Hospitality and helpfulness were tabsolute top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kystfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my mum and was very happy indeed with everything from the really beautiful rooms to the excellent food by proprietor chef . All in all this is a brilliant place to stay and eat whilst staying in the beautiful Carlingford. This is my second time staying here now and will return again .

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We started our bicycle trek to the Belvedere House in Carlingford, with a virtually life-saving stop at Lumper's Bar, on R174, Ballymakellett, Ravensdale, Dundalk, County Louth (phone 042 9371382; johnlumpers@eircom.net) .

Being that we were making our way north from Dublin on a cycling safari, and getting terrific tans in an unprecedented Irish heat wave, we staggered into Lumpers, situated at the base of the Tain Trail, our anticipated afternoon climb over the Cooley Mountains down into Carlingford.

Suffering from heat exhaustion and hunger following the morning's 30 mile ride in 91 degree temperatures, we tottered into the pub. After pouring buckets of water over our heads in the restrooms, we were revived enough to dive into the many life-saving baskets of triangular-cut sandwiches, bowls of comforting homemade vegetable soup, and the seemingly endless pitchers of fresh water that John quickly placed in front of us. When we could eat no more, John entertained us with many tales about the famous lumper potato, the nearby Magic Hill where cars, when placed in neutral after traversing the fairy-inhabited hill, rolled backwards back over the hill, and hiking and camping adventures John leads on "his mountain."

Only the Tain Trail, translated as "herd" trail in Irish, lay between us and a comfortable rest at Carlingford's Belvedere House. Supposedly, Queen Maeve herself had led her cows on this trail that appeared to go seemingly straight up, climbing 700 feet to the sky, affording us incredible views of the farmsteads and the pastoral lands dotted with very loud and vocal sheep scattered about the Cooley Mountains. Once we reached the mountain's crest at Windy Gap's "The Long Woman's (in megalithic times, the final resting spot of he 7 foot Spanish beauty, who, upon moving to Carlingford, died of disappointment) Grave," we enjoyed the breath-taking views of the Mountains of Mourne "flowing down to the sea" (made famous in the Irish tune), as we coasted down the mountain into the lovely 12th century village of Carlingford.

One of Ireland's Heritage Towns, Carlingford, a linear settlement with defensive walls and narrow streets, is regarded as Ireland's best preserved village from the medieval period. The town's structure has changed little over the centuries, but it is rapidly becoming Eastern Ireland's outdoor adventure and water sport center (with hill walks on the Cooley Mountains and Slieve Foy, sailing on Carlingford Lough, golfing at Greenore Golf Course, and riding opportunities at the Equestrian Centre) and features the Restaurant Association of Ireland's "Best Restaurant in Louth" award-recipient, the Baytree Restaurant.

We made our way to our lodgings in the center of town--the Belvedere House, a Newry Street B an B owned by Kristina, our gracious host and resident vegetable gardener, and Conor Wood, her husband and the restaurant's master chef. Their Baytree Restaurant, which has earned a place in the 2014 Michelin Guidebook with a two star rating (very good, affordable) was to be, to our good fortune, the site of our many breakfasts and dinners.

We were shown to our second floor beautifully decorated rooms overlooking bustling Newry Street. Following a theme from the Irish epic story "The Cattle Raid of Cooley," and, also, the history of the town, the room's doors sported signs, which includes the names of Culchulain, Queen Maeve, D'Arcy McGee, and Taaffe Castle, respectively. A gentle breeze wafted in through the open windows bursting with colorful petunias in flower boxes. Celebrating the history of the village, the comfortable furniture was done in antique pine but, clearly catering to modern comforts, the rooms were en-suite with "power" showers, warmed towel racks, flat screen TV with satellite channels, bedside fresh water, coffee and tea service, hair dryers, and the gracious hospitality provided by Kristina and Conor. The earplugs, thoughtfully left on the room's night stands, were indicative of a potentially less than perfect night's sleep. I did not sleep well at the Belvedere House because of the inn's proximity to the vibrant pub scene. In afterthought, I should have gone out and joined the merry-makers!

Breakfast was beautifully presented in the adjoining award-winning Baytree Restaurant. A full Irish hot breakfast was available, but also any derivative of it, as Kristina catered to our needs. I enjoyed hot porridge, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, and tea, as well as a toastie sandwich with Irish bacon (ham), fresh tomatoes, and grilled fresh mushrooms--quite satisfying. After a day of sightseeing, we returned to the Baytree Restaurant for their much-acclaimed dinner. The chef-owned family business places an emphasis on fresh produce from local suppliers, providing Kristina doesn't grow it in her garden behind the B and B. They advertise "classic dishes beautifully presented with a modern twist" and I was delighted with my fresh Caesar salad, grilled hake, mash (potatoes) with turrets to resemble Taaffe's Castle, garden veggies, and the most delectable traditional desserts--banofee, sticky toffee pudding, and rhubarb creme brulee.

The sights of the town were at the Belvedere's doorstep: the 12th century King John's Castle with its watch over Carlingford Lough, the original Tholsel toll gate into the town, two wealthy merchant townhouses--the Mint and haunted Taaffe's Castle, the ancient Abbey, and the lovely harbor lough with views of Northern Ireland on the opposite shore. Most exciting to our family was to discover that Carlingford's Slieve Foy mountain houses a Leprechaun Preserve. Founded in 1989, we were told that Carlingford pub owner, PJ O'Hare, had heard a scream from Slieve Foy and all he could find were traces of a wee folk's former presence--a little green suit, his hat, a fiddle, a bodhran drum, a harp, a tiny pint and a glass, a pile of wee bones, and a little purse with several gold coins in it. PJ deduced that these things belonged to leprechauns and he quickly gathered them up and displayed them in a glass case in his pub on Tholsel Street, where we ate one evening. The story goes that because PJ had possession of the leprechaun's gold, he could speak to them. The wee folk told PJ that if, upon his demise, he didn't give the gold to a man who had seven sons, the gold would revert back to the leprechauns and humans couldn't speak to them again. Luckily, he found a friend who had seven sons and seven grandsons, so humans would have the upper edge on the leprechauns for many generations. To protect their leprechauns, the folks in Carlingford convinced the EU to sanction out the area on Slieve Foy as a Leprechaun Preserve. Residents had been told that there were only 230 wee folk left and they needed to be protected. While my family trudged up Slieve Foy, they had the good fortune to encounter little stick teepees, bits of wool, and other things that the wee folks needed to make a cozy camp. A true highlight of our trip.

Our several nights at the Belvedere House in Carlingford made for a delightful, comfortable, and memorable stay after that brutally exhausting day prior conquering the Cooley Mountain's Tain Trail atop bicycles. It would be nice to go back to Carlingford another time when the village is immersed in their March Leprechaun Festival, with children scampering around Slieve Foy (not in the protected area) in quest of ceramic leprechauns hidden about the mountain, and to call upon Eimar, the headless ghost of Taaffe's Castle, as she wails to her beloved Nicholas Taaffe, who was beheaded at the Battle of the Boyne: "I will forever wait for you." And we would love to see Kristina and Conor again for a nice cup of tea, some rhubarb creme brulee, and some more of their wonderful Irish hospitality.

Room Tip: Our Taaffe's Castle room looked out onto Taaffe's Castle, Carlingford Lough, and the vibrant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice and have really enjoyed both trips. The rooms are cosy and well decorated but the highlight really is the Baytree Restaurant. As well as tasting fantastic, each course is beautifully presented.

On our first occasion we stayed one a one night plus dinner deal. When my partner mentioned he was looking forward to mussels during the afternoon, we were told that they were not on the menu that night but they would get some for us...fantastic service.

If I was to pick a negative it may be that the bathrooms were not as we appointed as the bedrooms but only a minor point.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlingford hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
705 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
Mc Kevitt's Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grove House B&B
Grove House B&B
#6 of 13 in Carlingford
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghan House
Ghan House
#1 of 4 in Carlingford
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere House

Address: Newry Street, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belvedere House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing