We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wee cafe with amazing scones”

Dan's Stonewall Cafe
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tandragee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great wee cafe with amazing scones”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Called in with my wife for a coffee and scones. To our surprise we got what has to be described as the tastiest apple scone ever. Was more like a slice of cake but with the fresh cream and jam tasted unbelievable. A great cafe with lovely staff and also great coffee. Will definitely be back the next time we are up this direction.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    30
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint and friendly place”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a lovely light lunch n Dan's on a recent weekend trip to Carlingford. nice homemade food that we both enjoyed, pan inis obviously made to order not like the coffee shop chains. lovey cup of tea from a massive pot and the staff and owner very welcoming. we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halpinscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this charming little cafe, the breakfast is great, the staff are all very friendly, I have eaten in this cafe many times and never had a bad experience, Dan's certainly the man.

Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondrocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Charming....”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

A charming little cafe which was open on a cold Monday morning when everywhere else seemed to be closed. Friendly staff who brightened a dull day. Coffee freshly brewed with free top-ups but the star of the show was the hot chocolate with marshmallows.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeegieQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This place warms my heart with good food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by Dan's cafe for a lite lunch and we got so much more. This little irish cafe has a great ambience, fresh country produce, and local servers that are knowledgable on the area. The food is wholesome with lots of homemade irish treats like scones, jams, cakes etc. yum!

Helpful?
Thank SanoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan's Stonewall Cafe also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to Dan's Stonewall Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing