We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bed and breakfast in an excellent village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnavave Bed and Breakfast

Barnavave Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnavave Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent bed and breakfast in an excellent village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is an excellent bed and breakfast in a super location,
the people running the house are so nice so welcoming cant do enough for you and really make your stay so relaxing,
They are so friendly and helpful any special dietary requirements or if you’re not feeling up to the excellent size of a fry in the morning they are happy to cater for your needs. Also from dropping you to the village in the evenings if raining or you had an elderly person not up to walking they are happy to drive you to the door of anywhere in the village.
if you want to see the views from this B&B there is a very good new service on Google maps type in Ghan road carling ford and you will see this bed and breakfast for all its worth and how its in the best location of carling ford.
Can’t wait until I return again always have a great time and there is always a good laugh around the village pubs too.
Regards Bernard

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whelo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and I spend the weekend in Barnavave B&B earlier in the month and I can't wait to go back. The place was lovely and clean, and had a great breakfast to set you up for the day. Carlingford was perfect for a realxing weekend, with nice coastal walks around the scenic lough and great pubs to unwind in by night.

We'll definately be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised as we don't normally stay in B&B's. Everything about this place was perfect, location, rooms, service and the food was devine. Located right beside the beach and in walking distance of Carlingford village. The proprietors were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome.

We will be definitely be returning to Barnavave House very soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Arrived at Barnavave and was greeted by a charming Young man who filled us in on the general lay out of Carlingford . After receiving our key we proceeded to our room which turned out to be very clean and comfortable . After a 2 minute walk we arrived in the heart of carlingford .Great bar and restaurants to be found . After a great night out we had a great night sleep . the quality of the bed linen was that of a 5 star hotel . My over all experience of Barnavave for exceeded my expectations . What ever the management and staff are doing please continue to do so

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philmicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Had an absolutely fantastic night stay at Barnavave B+B, Rooms were impecable, beds so comfy when it came to check out time i was lying on my bed til the last second :) Owners were amazing, could have wanted for nothing during my stay. Dying to go back again soon :)

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed there in June my girlfriend heard amazing things about the plcae and we weren't disappointed. The staff were the friendliest i've come across couldn't help you enough and what can i say about the food it was fantastic and i am a very picky eater. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough and as a birthay treat to my girlfiend ill be taking her back in October and im bringing my friends with me. Loved it thanks for the stay Barnavave

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonym79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Very well maintained house. Owners fantastically humourous.Service excellent, rooms spotless. Very close to the beautiful village of Carlingford (5 mins walk) House situated right on the shore. What we liked best is we just want to go back again. Thats the Boomerang Principle working very well.

Regards
RAY & SANDRA CLARKE

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlingford hotels
0.4 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.6 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grove House B&B
Grove House B&B
#6 of 13 in Carlingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghan House
Ghan House
#1 of 4 in Carlingford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnavave Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnavave Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barnavave Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing