We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the health food”
Review of Food for thought - CLOSED

Food for thought
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the health food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for coffee and also lunch and really enjoyed it. Heaps of variety on the menu and very generous servings so be sure not to over-order! The best part is the health food products on sale which means you could source yummy items for a very decent picnic. And being able to sit out on the Main Street is also a bonus. The owner was also very friendly (some of the other staff could improve on this front though).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OzzieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour off M1”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Spending some time in Carlingford enroute from Dublin to Belfast with time on our hands. Beautiful as Carlingford is, the real joy of being there was to find Food for Though at lunch time. Best lunch we both had in a a long time, really! The owners and staff were attentive but not overly so, and were very capable of meeting my dietary needs, he really knows his food. The only negative thing is that I live way to far away to go anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FM642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Detractors”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

See a couple of negative reviews which I find hard to fathom, I have visited the this premises on very busy weekends and quiet mid weeks and I must say that on all occassions the staff are always friendly, helpful and courteous. The food be it a coffee/tea or a full meal is excellent. A couple of times I did not get all that I ordered but when I pointed this out to a staff member the matter was rectified immediately. I cant understand the negativity with the other comments

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GER1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We found a wonderful deli/lunch place in Carlingford which offers beautiful tasty food which is healthy and wholesome. There is a lovely atmosphere there and the staff are extremely friendly. A good take out is available and they have a great range of sauces, drinks and snacks. A real find.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscarslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch or Snack”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Have been here several times in the last few months and has always been good. The only problem is getting a table at the weekend. Americano is strong and excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food for thought also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing