We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch! Try the Cajun Chicken salad!”
Review of Food for thought - CLOSED

Food for thought
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch! Try the Cajun Chicken salad!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the best lunch we had in Ireland, and we had some wonderful meals! I spotted some delicious looking chicken in the deli area: it was Cajun chicken prepared for dinner, but I asked if we could have it with a salad for lunch. It was out of this world delicious, so unexpected in such an unassuming place! And they served it with several delectable samples of various salads. There must have been 6 or 7 different types of salads on our plate. The portion was so generous, I had to share. I couldn't finish it all, although I sure wanted to! I highly recommend this delightful surprize of a restaurant for anyone staying in beautiful Carlingford. It was a memorable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank netnrrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous cheesecake, chocolate cake, and raspberry gateau”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Whenever we are in Northern Ireland we make a point of driving across the border to Carlingford especially to visit Food for Thought. The deserts are absolutely terrific. Latest visit was as good as ever. The cheesecake in particular was the best I have ever tasted - lime, ginger, and white chocolate. the other deserts we ordered were also fantastic, and all came with both ice cream and cream. The coffee is great, and the staff are really friendly. They also don't seem to mind when we spend ages browsing the shelves of jars of chutneys and olives and jams.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food 4 thought what a lovely little cafe/deli”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently went here for lunch with a group of friends. i must say the service was excellent and the food even better we all had different meals. fish cakes are unbelievable melt in your mouth and you can taste all the fresh ingredients that went into them. all the girls were really happy with there food we even made room for desserts. had a good choice of fresh home made cakes, crumbles and cheese cakes. excellent choice of foods take away also. the deli counter looks amazing great to see all the staff wearing hair nets and gloves. i will definitely be returning **** from start to finish we were made very welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best breakfast in Cooley”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

recently had the pleasure off breakfast in this little gem off a cafe/deli in the village with 3 friends we have been round the area a fair bit recently for weekends
we got there when they were flat out but staff got us seated at a table for 4 by getting a few smaller tables together with in minutes, not easy in a standing room only places orders taken and table set with a smile, all breakfasts arrived in 10 mins perfect eggs and bacon on a warm plate coffee and plenty off toast for all, tea was topped up without having to ask for it. only regret was not ordering the continental even after being well full on the full irish i had just devoured lol i seen one being delivered as we were leaving could have sat down again i know what il be having next week
thanks food for thought crew staff your table moving trick was fun to watch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Tea with Family.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a wonderful little place. The food is delicious. If you enjoy cooking you will also enjoy browsing the shelves of the deli. The carrot cake was the best ever. This atmosphere is quirky with emphasis places on good food served simply. We loved this place, and would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food for thought also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing