We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShirleyH1...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful week in Carlingford with my 15 yr old son.
Oliver greeted us at the property to show us round after having arranged an earlier check in time to accommodate our early flight.
Very friendly and welcoming and left us tea ,coffee, milk, bottles of water ,toiletries and loo rolls.
The apartment was spotlessly clean with a well equipped kitchen and the most comfortable beds in the world with lovely fresh crisp bedding.
Son was very happy with the Wi-Fi and smart TV which meant he could satisfy his Netflix addiction.
Private off road courtyard parking outside the front door was also very welcome.
Carlingford is such a beautiful old town the centre of which is 2 mins stroll away with its lovely cafes restaurants and pubs.
There is a newsagent/off licence/grocers in the town for essentials but the nearest big supermarket we found was about 20 mins away towards Dundalk.
Cheapest meal we found was Riina's Italian restaurant , but the best meal was the Kingfisher Bistro. Worst meal was at the Carlingford Arms which was overpriced medicre pub food. Ruby Ellen's Tea Rooms and Dan's cafe both do amazing breakfasts.
We went on a couple of beautiful walks around the Cooley peninsula which are colour graded according to length and difficulty and the coloured arrows are easy to follow. There is also a lovely flat walk to Omeath which follows the side of the loch.
The Skypark 2 mins away is an amazing outdoor tree top obstacle course featuring zip wires and all manner of terrifying activities, but you should not leave Carlingford without visiting Kevin the Leprechaun Whisperer and spending an hour in his fairy cavern...
It's just over an hour's drive from both Dublin and Belfast and we visited both including the Titanic museum which is well worth a visit , although the admission costs are probably equivalent to the cost of a 1st class suite on the Titanic in 1912.
Anyway a really lovely week , I definitely recommend this apartment for it's comfort and location.
I know it's such a clichè , but the people we met, including Oliver and his family , are the friendliest and most welcoming you could wish to meet.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
“Great accomodation in a central area”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just as advertised. Large open plan living and kitchen area. 2 large bedrooms. Suited 2 guests perfectly. Very short walk into the centre of town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila W
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Slieve foy lodge was very comfortable, well furnished with lots of extras, very well thought out. Would definitely recommend it. Also had private parking a bonus in Carlingford, a few minutes walk into village. Lovely apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiamODeni...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with my partner and her parents. We had a couple of nights at the start of September. Oliver was there to greet us (as arranged) and show us around the place and how things worked. Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits had been left for us too. Oh, and a bowl of fruit. The place was very clean. All crockery and utensils in the kitchen, and the bathrooms as well - spotless. I've been accused in the past of being a bit 'picky' when things aren't 100% but nothing to mention at all. The location is a very short walk from the centre of Carlingford. Carlingford is a beautiful small town in a beautiful location. Oliver had left a wealth of information for those not familiar with things to do in and around the area. There was also information from local restaurants and take-aways if, like us, you weren't there to cook all the time. I hope it's available for when I next visit. Would be crazy to stay elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631stanh
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this apartment for 2 midweek nights in August. The apartment is very near the centre of the village and it is only a 5 minute stroll to the many restaurants, coffee shops and and pubs.

There were 4 of us and so we used both bedrooms one of which had an ensuite with a stand alone shower and the other couple had their own bathroom with a shower over the bath. The bedrooms both had super king sized beds which were very comfortable - one of which could be made up as 2 singles. The main body of the flat was well kitted out with comfortable leather chairs and sofas, and a kitchen / dining area. The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing