We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage & great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MBHCB
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage & great location”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beach Combers Cottage is situated in a beautiful setting in Templetown overlooking the sea. We were a party of 5, my husband & I, our two boys (8 & 11) and my father who has limited mobility. We located the cottage on google maps and used these directions to find the property but had previously received directions from the owner, Harry. It took just over an hour from Dublin ferry port to the cottage. We met Harry a couple of times when he checked that we had everything we needed and he was very friendly and informative.
We found the cottage to be fully equipped and the layout was ideal for our family. We used many of the kitchen facilities as we had a number of home cooked meals and made use of the dishwasher, washer and tumble dryer. We ate regularly at the dining table in the kitchen/diner and its a shame that you can't look directly out to sea from the table as the view is obscured by some very hardy plants/bushes located along the cliff top fencing, but these are essential to protect the property from the high winds that we experienced.
At the end of the property there is a gate that leads down to the beach, initially rocky but then sandy further along the coast. We had some very pleasant walks along the beach and circled back to the cottage along the lanes.
We also visited the Titanic Museum in Belfast and Dun A Ri Forest Park , Kingscourt, both of which allowed access for my dad in his mobility scooter.
We had a lovely week and hope to go back to Ireland again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great coastal locaction
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veraproud...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location if you like views and peace and quiet and wildlife”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This spacious cottage sits on the cliff top of a very interesting beach. It has a private path down to what is a very stony beach but great for beach combing and bird watching. (Walking boots were good to have) There is a sandy beach further along which can also be walked to fairly easily (this was good to swim in)
The views of the sea on one side and the mountains behind are stunning. The cottage is at the end of a lane and there were rarely any other people on this bit of beach so the calm and stillness of the location were not disturbed. Carlingford itself is a good town and the Lough is beautiful. It was good for exploring the ancient cairns and also mountain walks with streams and fantastic views. The landlord was very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Missed having a bath.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie_Why...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are currently staying at this wonderful property, arrived here yesterday and we stay until next weekend. It is truly lovely, beautiful views of the sea in front and mountains behind us.
The pictures used to advertise it really do not do it justice.
The cottage itself is clean, light and warm.
The owner is very helpful.
I am happy that I am here for another 6 days/7 nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: difficult to pinpoint one thing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
healio
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, Beautiful location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal location to get away from it all. Scones and homemade jam on arrival, spotlessly clean house, fresh milk and butter in the fridge, everything you need to light a fire.. and WiFi! From when you first step into the house, its like a home away from home. The views are fabulous, and although the beach below is stony, sandy beaches are only a stones throw away (pardon the pun). Will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing