We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of black olive

black olive
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Province of Leinster, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Visited here last weekend with family members, great selection on the menu, our dishes were great. Irish coffees were brilliant, good service, relaxed atmosphere, will go again!,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    16
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Worth a visit....very relaxed.(and likes kids!!)”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Myself, my husband and three girls visited this restaurant last Sunday en route from Sligo to Dublin as it was a good half way point and seemed to have impressed a lot of other tripadvisor contributors.

It has received many awards which are well presented on the way into the restaurant(by stairs)it is situated on Ballymahon Street across from Heatons on the Main Street.( Parking could be a problem as even on a Sunday afternoon we had to drive around.)

The positives are the fantastically relaxed atmosphere and very good food.

There are just a few easily remedied negatives!... The aforementioned awards include "Best kids" food award.. we were not offered a specific menu on that Sunday but half portions of the lunch menu or sausages or pasta (nothing seemed a problem) We ordered the chicken nuggets and the pasta... the pasta was good and although the nuggets appeared homemade were a little spicy for our childrens palate..the biggest negative here(easily sorted) is the drinks and desserts....these are NOT included in the childrens menu price...so apple juice was 2.00e each and desserts(Just icecream in a waffle case) 2.50e so childrens meals end up costing almost the same as the adults main..(ie:10.50e) Adults main is 12.95e .Management should, like most restaurants just supply dilute jugs of orange/blackcurrant etc..for a restaurant that is so relaxed with a box of toys for the small diners I think this is a major oversight...

The decor is nice(Id say nicer by night and was full of locals so that has to be a good sign!)Just a few light bulbs need replacing and put those artificial flowers at the entrance in the bin..!)Toilets seemed fine.

Otherwise our food was delicious, the owner and staff couldn't have been more welcoming (making a fuss and a special dessert for our smallest birthday) so we would return on those grounds alone. As a stop en route west give it a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I visited the restaurant for an early bird on a Thursday evening and really enjoyed our experiance. The staff were very friendly and the service was very good. There was a good choice on the early bird menu which was also very reasonably priced. The restaurant is well spaced out with a friendly and easy going atmosphere and there was a nice but not too long a wait in between our courses. I would have liked to have seen the calorie content displayed on the menus but this was not available when we visited. I would visit this restaurant again and would recommend a visit to anyone looking for a nice place to go in Longford.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service - best in Longford by far.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

No wonder this restaurant receives awards. There is a good menu choice, Fiona the owner is friendly and welcoming and the service is excellent. Reasonably priced but shame to see they've done away with the calorie content display on the menus. Visit here regularly and have yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prettypink21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great lunch here,could not fault it in any way, for the quality the cost is minimal and the food extraordinary

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed black olive also viewed

 
Longford, County Longford
Longford, County Longford
 
Longford, County Longford
Ballyleague, County Roscommon
 

Been to black olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing