We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT, A GROUP OF 26 JUST CANT BE WRONG!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longford Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Reviewed October 5, 2010

When I read the previous reviews on this hotel I was horrified. "What have I done?" I asked myself, I had visions of Faulty Towers, and the group that I had booked for stringing me from the rafters. I had no need to worry at all, the hotel was fabulous, the food was great and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were warm and welcoming, clean and tidy, with maid service every day.
It was a very busy weekend, due to a basketball tournament, and the hotel was packed with guests. The staff were very professional and coped with everything that was thrown at them. They accomodated all our requests without complaint and made us feel very welcome.
The night club was very good and very handy, not far to go to your bed when you stumble out of at 2.30 am. and the drinks prices were very good at 2 euro per drink.
The location of the hotel could not have been more central to the town, a very large carpark to the rear with shops, clubs and pubs on the doorstep. There was no shortage of places to go, Longford is certainly a place I would visit again.
Our whole group of 26 felt at home, from the minute we invaded them to the minute we left, Ireland and its people are wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailforce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed here for the Banjo Festival .It was very busy and the staff worked really hard.The Buffet dinner was very good and plenty to eat for breakfast as well .Our bedrooms were very comfortable and clean..We could not fault this hotel.We enjoyed our stay and the Banjo festival ,hope to return next year ..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

pulled up into free car park....went to bistro for soup and sambo....beautiful and excellent service.....went into bar lovely ....decided to stay.....all nice and clean....would return any time

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I arrived at the hotel about 5pm after a hard day's work and a two hour drive. A rather indifferent receptionist gave me my key and told me where I could get dinner.
The room was horrible; it felt chilly and damp. I went to have a shower and ran the "hot" water for five minutes with no result. I went back downstairs and mentioned it to the receptionist who said she would look into it. i went for a walk.
My colleague had arrived by then and we had dinner (still no hot water). The girl who served us was unintelligibleand rude, insisting that my colleague read the menu rather than bother her. The food was passable only because we were starving, but tasted like re-heated fare.
After a walk and a pint, we both retired for the night with the (different) receptionist explaining to me that I would have to run the water for at least ten minutes. I tried it-it took twenty-five minutes to get the water hot enough to shower under a head that sprayed the water in almost every imaginable direction.
Breakfast in the morning was OK but the presence of rather rude staff made it a less than pleasant experience.
Are you thinking of staying in Longford? Are you considering the Longford Arms? Think again. One of the Latin inscriptions over the bar reads "Quod petis hic est" which I think translates as "Here is all you need". Well, quod petis, hic NON est.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

On arrival having booked 19 rooms for a wedding party all arriving at different intervals, guests were arriving to find theywernt booked at all.A family of 2 adults and 3 children had to sleep in a room with 1 double 1 single bed. another guest got a room with dirty underware and stained sheets. Another guest was shouted at by the manager to keep the children quite (They were ot over noisey). The manager havin such a bad attitude tells me were the rest of the staff get it form particulary the receptionist. The guests at the front rooms of the hotel got no sleep from either the traffic, disco or clubers till 4 in the morning.DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL unless there has been drastic changes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Caroline186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had friends who booked into this hotel as we live in the town went in to check out all. The receptionist on duty was the most ignorant person I have ever met ( not a smile or a plesent word should be voted worst receptioist of the month) when my friends arrived another receptionist had come on duty no better tham the first lady, now the bedrooms are so poorly decorated, shampoos and soap you nearly need a step to get them down. This athmosphere in this hotel has to be comming from the top I do know that the Reynolds daughter has taken over the running of the hotel in the past year or so*(Orla take a hard look at the reviews things have got a lot worse) Perhaps some investment in training staff and management would be of benefit to all. There are two very important words which does not seem to be at the Longfrord Arms (Customer Service) Our friends were to stay for three nights booked out after the first night thats says it all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

worst hotel in the world to stay at children not even alout to make noise without staff and manager giving off.Would not recoment it to anyone as the rooms are not up to date.When checked in went to room there was dirty clothes and underwear on the floor everywhere it must have been someone elses room wee were told that they would get it cleaned for us after 30 mins they give us the key again room not even touched every thing still laying after an hour and half they finely gave us another room.The manager has an attuide problem dont know how he ever got a job as a manager .

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robertking49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
1.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.1 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
18.7 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,145 reviews
21.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longford Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Longford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: $111 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longford Arms Hotel is located at the heart of Longford Town. The Hotel encompasses luxurious Leisure Centre with Salt Water Pool, State of the Art Gym and Spa and Treatment facilities. Award Wining Carvery available Seven Days a Week and the Front Lounge provides Top Class Entertainment every Saturday and Sunday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Longford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing