We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff a bit casual, rooms mediocre.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longford Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Reviewed June 21, 2010

On arrival the receptionist was just about pleasant, if a little disinterested. I checked in and got my key. But when I opened the door to 'my' room, there were two men in the room, still there from the previous night. They seemed unperturbed to see a harried middle aged woman walk right into their room demanding why they were there. Anyhow, someone eventually righted the situation but while they were doing it I remarked it was like Fawlty Towers, The staff member replied 'Fawlty Towers doesn't hold a candle to this place!'. I got a large room for just me, maybe because of the initial mix up. Only one of the two windows opened, the second one was locked. The room was a bit dusty and faint old stains everywhere. The bathroom was clean but in need of a renovation (sink was coming away from the frame). The shower was great though, great pressure. The room could not lock from the inside which worried me, since I was able to walk right into someone elses room earlier. One of the lamps wasn't working and the bed was uncomfortable. Breakfast in my room was fine, no complaints. Over all, scruffy and disorganised but for the price, I didn't really expect much more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotundablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Longford Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

what struck me most about this hotel was an apparently chlorine-free swimming pool. I am a passionate swimmer but hate chlorine... not many pools to choose from for me. Also, prices were very competitive (April 2010).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain11-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This hotel has obviously been refurbished very recently to a very hight standard. With a recent addition of leisure facilities. The breakfast was excellent with great choice of hot and cold, also it was served until 11.30 which really suits those of us who are not early risers. There was a problem with the water while we were there, causing the toilet, shower, hand basin etc to produce a horrible brown rusty looking water. Although the hotel said it was due to work being done on the mains and not their fault, I think they could have offered a complimentry bottle of water to any guest who requested it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edelweiss62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Recently stayed in the much improved Longford Arms Hotel. Food was great and availed of the guests complimentary use of the leisure center. Later having had a few drinks in the bar I decided to try one of the hotel's 2 niteclubs for an hour before retiring for the night. To my surprise the place was buzzing, fab atmosphere and the best value drink I've ever had, €2 a drink. Danced the night away, a must visit party venue.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is old school and comfortable on a basic level.The floor boards creak, which is kind of nice in a funny way, the rooms are all odd and quirky and the hotel is dead centre on high st which is handy.
I suppose in a few words you get what you pay for and if you are not looking for anything too fancy this place meets the bill. Oddly my room (en suite) had only one radiator and that was in the bathroom, so as temps dropped to snow storm outside I relied on that heat filtering out to the bedroom, which to be fair it just about did! Reception could be a bit friendlier and once you understand the breakfast girls Eastern European accent you get a decent fill of food, same goes for evening meal. All in all this place is ok

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I have never had such a bad experience staying in a hotel and staff are in bad need of customer service training. Dingy rooms with no heat and kept awake most of night with loud music.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clara71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This hotel is fine if you have too stay in Longford town. It's ok and the hotel looks as if they are slowly doing up the rooms. The carpets do need to be replaced because they smell of fags - Very badly!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
1.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
223 reviews
4.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
21.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,137 reviews
21.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
17.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longford Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Longford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: $108 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longford Arms Hotel and Leisure Centre is a three star hotel in Longford Town offering excellent facilities at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Longford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing