We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

Le Bistro
Price range: $4 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The best of French and Irish , at great prices , 2 courses from €19.00, 3 Courses €23.00.Set menus all the time , we do great deals for large groups .
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Tried a wings with bread which they serving and just loved them. But price is little but to high like for small portion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had eaten here before good few times. Its big place for work dinner out as you can easy book table for bigger groups. The place today was fairly empty and not much in the way of atmosphere. Food was ok but nothing special its more about unprofetional staff xtremely unprofessional! I doubt they'll be in business much longer! Overall the service was disappointing and all of us agreed we wouldnt visit again, given that there are so many other lovely restaurants around. Really not impressed with the way this place has gone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danuta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le B, Owner at Le Bistro, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review ,I remember your table from Thursday we are all disappointed at Le Bistro that you did not enjoy your evening , I believe there was some confusion at your table we are all very concerned about our performance , We would appreciate if you contacted us at lebistro.ie and give us more details on the evening so this will not happen again .


Thank you very much

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Will definetly go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

A nice addition to the town. We were a table of 3 and the duck and daub if beef were excellent, the chicken a little dry. The prawn & mussel gratin starter was more watery than white wine & cream so was poor. Found it reasonable value and an all round good experience. I will be back for another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK Dinning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Decided to visit this resturaunt, following many reccomendations. A group of 4 of us decided to try it out.
Staff were friendly upon arrival but once we were seated we found it quite difficult to order. We had to attract the waitress on any occasion that required anymore courses, drinks etc.
While the food we ordered was quite tasty we all found the portions very sm.all & all side dishes had to be ordered as extra, adding to the cost.
We were in no way rushed over our dinning experience which was nice as we decide to linger with a couple of bottles of wine. Unfortunately when we requeste our bill. We discovered we were being charged for more bottles of wine than we had. When we drew the staff members attention to this her response was "Oh right, I'll ask the manger". A new bill was produced minus the extra wine, but there was no question of an apology. A little disappointing.
In short food was tasty but small portions & service was adequate. Not sure I would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grainne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by numerous people and were overall disappointed. The food was average but they need a serious review of the extraction system. The smell of cooking of ourselves and our clothes when we left was terrible. The staff were very friendly but overall it was a poor experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanneM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 
Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing