We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

Le Bistro
Price range: $4 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The best of French and Irish , at great prices , 2 courses from €19.00, 3 Courses €23.00.Set menus all the time , we do great deals for large groups .
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Food heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went in on a tues nite with my husband.. 1st visit.. And what a surprise as we didnt even know le bistro was there in the first place as restraurant we were supposed to go to was closed.. Lovely atmosphere.. Cosy and very efficient and polite staff.. And as for the food!!!!! mmmmmmm!!!!! We got the chicken wings with blue cheese sauce for starters and they were so good.. Want more right now:) I had the steak. Hubby had the Toulouse sausages.. Yum yum yum!! And we had a shared Eton mess.. A light and lovely finish to the meal.. We were dumbstruck by the bill as it was such good value for such good quality of food and we are really looking forward to going back and trying more from the menu., really want to try the pear and almond tart as this is one of my faves to make..:) see u soon;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbs71dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to Le Bistro on a Tuesday night when another restaurant we hoped to go to was closed for the evening. My wife and I tend to out for a meal mid week once a month and find that many restaurants are next to empty on nights other than the weekend busy period. When we walked past Le Bistro to see as many as 20 people inside we had to have a look.
The service / food and atmosphere was perfect. Newbridge has long needed such a restaurant.
It is every bit as good as the Hanged Mans and Brown Bear for food quality at a fraction of the price and without having to leave the town. Looking forward to going back in the near future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jockey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Myself and 4 friends had a lovely experience here a few weeks ago. There was a fantastic atmopshere from the minute we walked in. The place was busy but we didn't feel on top of our neighbours, the tables are well laid out. There were a lot of groups and the staff coped very well. Our orders were taken promptly but in no ways rushed, the food came out piping hot. There was music playing but very much in the background which is how it should be in every restaurant. We were delighted to see such a nice restaurant open up in a large town that badly needs one. We wish them continued success!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurotripperIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best squid rings in the area!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

3 of us went out for dinner. And what a perfect place to eat at.
Service is very friendly, prices are reasonable, atmosphere is great and most of all - every bite of food is delicious which makes you go mmmmm-wow-mmmm!
Will be back soon!
Thank You!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washereseenthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a great night here on Friday night. The food was absolutely delicious and very reasonable for the quality. Also there was a great buzz about the place. Service was perfect and we really got the sense that our business was appreciated. I'll definitely be back and next time will be sure to save room for the pear and almond tart which was dubbed the best she'd ever tasted by one of my companions! And whoever makes the mash/champ is a genius...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 
Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 
Newbridge, County Kildare
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing