We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a bit of updating”
Review of Gables Guest House

Gables Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Guest House
Ranked #5 of 6 Newbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room (12) had cobwebs where you shouldn't have them the single bed was hard & past it's sell by date the plugs behind the beds were hanging out the plaster & were dangerous. The bathroom was large but dated but everything apart from the phone was working. I enjoyed the good sized 20 metre swimming pool & the sauna & gym facilities & my breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately my other guest had to be at a course at 9 & they didn't facilitate an early breakfast but when I checked out the manager seemed mortified & said of course you could have an earlier continental style breakfast & he would put the member of staff I dealt with right for future reference. The room rate was €40 per person not per room so it wasn't cheap for a bed would I stay again if I was in Newbridge ? Yes I probably would & a bonus was the free wifi!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorpeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

All in all the reviews I read before coming here did put me off, but for the price it's ok for a nite, good view of the river from room 25 window. Warm, no over powering smell, respectively clean,

Close to the Newbridge town center, I walked up to town with in 10mins, had a meal etc

Room tick's the box's
en-suit with shower no bath
tea/coffee facilities in room
crisp white linin on bed
iorning/board
and a swimming pool with sauna etc can't be bad for €40 inc breakfast for a nite, yes room could do with repaint and plug needs a fix screw, superficial fact's.
It's not the ritz or K club, don't get me wrong I'd love to stay at the K club but wow, my budget wont stretch that far does your's???? The Gabels has a bed/breakfast/pool just like K club.

I can't rate other rooms but rm25 was seffice.

Room Tip: Rm 25 is a room for 2, was warm and over looked river, no bath just shower, good value at €40 inc br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpaceTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

On arrival the guest house seemed ok dispite the frontdoor area dirty and in need of a good sweep.The lady at recption was ok but not the friendliest person as soon as we walked down the hall towards the rooms we knew this wasn't good. Walls were in need of a paint or wass and the flooring all should be in the bin. The first bedroom smelt something shocking we had to ask to change to another. We had three rooms booked and none of them were what I would call clean or modern. They also have a pool and gym which seem ok and quiet busy. Overall the place is not good and I will not be back to stay.

Room Tip: There were none that I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank connie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was looking to join the leisure club and use it on a regular basis. I had been corresponding by email with a girl working there who told me membership started from €40 I really was just looking to use the pool and for about 6 months. The car park was full of potholes, the women at the reception told me it starts from €45 and when I told her I reviewed an email saying it was €40 she just kept dismissing this. I was told a swim was €10 and she pointed to the changing room. This was very dated with 2 showers with mould on the shower curtains the floor was wet and covered in muc from people coming and going,to get to the swimming pool you had to walk out of the changing area past the gym where the door was wide open with lads doing weights staring at you while you made your way to the pool area, very strange and off putting. The pool was small but good size If there are only a few using it, no lifeguard. I was told afterwards membership was for a year and the price was the price whether I used the gym or not I explained I couldn't use the gym and was told well that's it 45 per month for 12 months, no flexibility. They are the most expensive in the area and have the worst facilities, will not be signing up here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiskey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We were told that the guesthouse had undergone major renovations to their premises so we were looking forward to seeing the changes after previously staying here and being disappointed.

The rooms we stayed in weren't thoroughly cleaned, there was black mould in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling from the walls and the decor was tired and dated.

We had family staying in other rooms of the guesthouse and they all had much larger rooms than ours, yet we were all charged the same rate per night.

I definitely wouldn't return to this premises as the money has obviously been pumped into the leisure facilities but even they left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisiRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbridge hotels
6.5 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
5.9 mi away
Athgarvan B&B
Athgarvan B&B
#2 of 6 in Newbridge
22 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Curragh B&B Country House Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Seven Springs
Seven Springs
#4 of 6 in Newbridge
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Guest House

Address: Kilcullen Rd, Newbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newbridge
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing