We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarassment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An embarassment!”
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed in Carton House on Sunday 3rd May. We were not invited to give feedback upon checking out, or even asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Our stay could be described as disappointing at best. In summary:
• Upon arriving at 4.30pm we were told there was no non-smoking room available in the entire hotel for us to check into
• We then waited in the Kitchen bar as asked to by the receptionist
• Despite us having told the receptionist that we were very unhappy with the situation as we wanted to spend the afternoon using the facilities she didn’t bother letting us know when the room was available – we had to go up and enquire to find out
• We were told by the same receptionist our bags would be sent to the room but they were not – we had to phone to request them
• All of our bags were not then brought to the room – we ended up returning to reception ourselves to collect the correct bags
• All of this took up our first hour at the hotel
• We then attempted to go for a walk but the 14km of trails advertised on the website and in the maps given out by reception were partially fenced off
• In the Linden Tree Restaurant that evening the waitress brought our main courses to the table while we were still eating our starters and upon realising this turned around and brought them back to the kitchen where I can only assume they sat under heat lamps for the next 10 minutes
• We sent back one dessert as it was inedible – the waitress sent over the manager who told us the desserts were bought in however this particular dessert was described as homemade on the menu
• Again on Sunday we were unable to walk as planned due to trails being closed off – this amounts to false advertising
• We requested a newspaper for Monday morning however none was brought to our room and upon later asking at reception we were told there were none left

None of these problems should have arisen – to have them all occur during a stay that lasted under 24 hours is ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CartonHouseReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    626
    359
    149
    81
See reviews for
530
1,117
35
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

First, this Hotel has been a labour of love since the Family bought this in the late 70's, they have now developed a resort location based from the listed mansion that is Carton House. The property is greatly extended & has very modern rooms, banqueting rooms & a Spa, that are contemporary in design, some may feel that the new additions do not compliment the existing 18th & 19th Century architecture, but that is persoanl preference. There is a huge difference between the suites in the main original building & the new rooms & therefore I would recommend the upgrade to the Suites for a true feel for the venue. My personal horror is a glass lift that is inserted through the original staircase, horrble, ruins the architecture & should not have been allowed. Disabled access- what ver- think of a differnt plan for access.
The Spa is very good, but there are some maintenance issues that should be addressed, showers not working, damp problems etc. Also the pool does not adhere to their children policy, ie they dont' throw them out of the pool when they should.
Bar service is good as is Reception. Breakfast is a good Buffet arrangement with reasonable service, but no one actually will serve you any products, they just point you to the Buffet, remember that this is 4* & not 5*!
Dinner is a disappointment, the dining is very casual & a little bit conveyor like, but servicable non the less.
Go & see the building at the very least.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of staying in Carton House, Maynooth and I must say I was not disappointed. The drive from the main gates to the hotel was very impressive with a wonderful golf course either side. On arrival, we were warmly greeted by friendly, efficient staff.
We stayed in the old or original end of the hotel. Our suite was stunning. It was furnished with beautiful décor and high ceilings which I’m a big fan of!
We decided to go for a dip in the pool before dinner. The pool was very well heated with a paddling area for children which is always a plus.
That evening went for dinner in The Linden Tree restaurant. The staff were excellent and the food was sumptuous. We were allowed as much time between courses which is key to an enjoyable meal. Highly recommend eating here!
We retired to the foyez where we sat and enjoyed some post dinner drinks without getting off the couch. The bar staff were exceptional and do a very good cosmopolitan.
Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at Carton House, it has it all!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just back from a 2 night stay in Carton House. First impressions of the hotel had me looking forward to a lovely weekend....the views coming in the driveway are breathtaking & the weather was on side, for a change.
Our rooms were ready ahead of checkin time - bonus points. We were booked in for some treatments in the spa & thoroughly enjoyed them. The old part of the house has been lovelingly taken care of & the newer part of the building is seemlessly incorporated.
However, the downfall is the service within the hotel - slow to say the least. This was something we experienced again & again during our stay both in the bar & restaurant.
On the first night we had dinner booked in the Linden restaurant. The food was exceptional but the service was very, very slow. This is not what we would have expected & is quite a let down for the whole experience. On our second night we ate in the clubhouse, where we had to admit they had got the service right - shame that this hasn't been copied in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulder52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Spent one night to celebrate my birthday in a quiet, relaxing way, and this fitted the bill perfectly. Staff are very pleasant and attentive, the rooms are large and comfortable, and although i stayed in the new wing I took a walk around the beautiful old house. Lovely grounds for a walk or cycling, and nearby Maynooth is a lovely village.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Just returned from a one night stay in the Carton House. It's a beautiful, beautiful hotel, the bar and lobby area are really lovely, great atmosphere to relax in and have a drink and read the papers. Our room was similarly lovely with nice touches like a free television guide magazine in the room and a free Sunday morning paper outside our door the next day (even though this was the lowest rate room -superior). Also loved the leisure centre and enjoyed a lovely dip & jacuzzi.

The problem areas are around service and general organisation. We booked dinner in the restaurant over the phone before arriving but on arrival there was no record of this "on the system". The staff on reception called our room a few minutes later to say the booking was confirmed. Problem sorted - so we thought! When we went down to dinner (in the Linden tree retaurant) we were told we were actually booked into the "other restaurant". This turned out to be a room in the old part of the hotel that was cold and empty and had zero atmosphere. Also here there was a different menu with just 3 choices for each course, not what we wanted! We did eventually get back to the Linden tree retaurant after 30 mins of phone calls and organisation. Dinner was nice enough but the service was very slow and food suffered from having sat too long under hot lights. While our food was relatively ok, the couple at the next table sent one dish back for being too cold, and the couple at the table at the opposite side had 1 main meal delivered and then were told that there'd been a mix up and other meal would be another 25 minutes!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel but I would encourage all to confirm and double-confirm any restaurant bookings!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2009

This was not my first trip to Carton House it being one of my favourite weekend getways. Its so close to Dublin and yet you feel like you are in the depths of the countryside once you enter the estate and the character of hotel public areas and bedrooms never fail to impress (it is nice to . This time I went with the girls for some pampering, the Spa has changed recently to Aveda and I have to say I loved the treatments! The day we were there the weather was freezing but the Spa was warm and invitng. A great way to spend a Saturday followed by drinks and a snack in the bar and dinner in the Restaraunt that night. The service and food were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Considine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
888 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing