We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Carton House with my husband on Valentine's weekend. Carton house is a beautiful hotel with fabulous grounds. We enjoyed walking the grounds on the Saturday and soaking up some spring sunshine. The food was lovely and would definitely recommend their Irish coffees!
My only negatives were that the pool area could do with a little TLC, I noticed rusting on the walls around the pool. It is also very very overpriced, prepare to put your hands deep in your pockets. For the price, I'd definitely try somewhere else again but it is a nice hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbyrne2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    628
    362
    150
    81
See reviews for
534
1,125
36
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a lovely spot - the setting is fantastic - with great grounds and really long walks - which we took - bring the boots though. There are clean paths - but there are mucky ones too!
We stayed in the old part of the house and this was the best choice. Rooms here are 'old world' but completely modernised if you can get that. Very clean, lovely soft furnishings, antiques, lovely atmosphere, great views, fantastic staircases. It was very busy when we stayed and the restaurant was very busy. Food was good, breakfast was adequate - standard fare.
Best part - old rooms in old part - great bed, grounds fantastic.
We stayed on a very wild windy night - so it was very atmospheric in the old part..
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
Ask to see the function rooms in the old part of the house - they are amazing and great for private functions!! We had a peek - the musical organ was fantastic!
We would definately return - a relaxing stay - except for the busy restaurant.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the money and stay in the old house, especially, for a romantic break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The test of any hotel is what happens when there is a hiccup. Our hiccup was a reservation that was not on their system. Despite the hotel being busy the receptionist sorted the matter out in a couple of minutes without any fuss what so ever.

The hotel itself is spotless, comfortable and surrounded by a huge rolling estate. The gym is small but that is usual for a hotel and had a reasonable range of machines. The weights room is separate to the cardio area.

We ate in the Bar and we felt the staff did a good job given how busy it was however I think they were understaffed. The good was tasty and well present. Breakfast was a buffet and had a good selection. Staff were attentive and complimentary papers were placed at the entrance.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Since January I have stayed in Carton 3 times for work. Each time it has been fantastic. I stayed a couple of times last year with my husband. I think its my favourite hotel in Ireland. The staff are great, the food is great and the hotel is just fab.
I have always stayed int he new side of the hotel but the last time i visited i got put into the Ogilivy suite in the old house.... Wow! Loved it. Would highly recommend asking if its available.
Dont hesitate in booking this place, you wont be disspointed. Ill be back again in april!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just spent last weekend there during a St,. Patrick's weekend visit to Ireland.

We were fortunate to have had a suite in the old house, with three magnificent rooms, including a dining area for eight (unused, but good for future group visits).

Service, comfort and amenities were outstanding. Dinner both nights in the main restaurant was fine, but a stupidly restrictive approach to bookings on the Saturday meant dining at 7 (empty) or nine, which the waitress assured us would have involved long queues. A more intelligent flexible approach to staging meals at 15 minute intervals would offer guests a better choice - after all, this place is not a canteen, and guests deserve more choice about their dinner time.

The hotel attracts families with infants - with the associated screeches and squeals that this involves. Clearly, it is family-friendly but preferred by parents who can carry their child rather than pay for a room for them. The result is a mix of over-50's and recently-wed guests, whose needs differ. The hotel would benefit from some segregation - like a quiet bar or library where guests without tiny children might find a peaceful place to read or escape from sports on TV and running children in the hallway/bar area, leaving doors to the outside patio open as they run around.
Perhaps golfers can find that peace in the golf section, but a designated area in the old house for non-golfers without rampant children would be preferable.

Overall, a highly enjoyable first experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

3rd time here, trip with dad this time. overnight stay, breakfast and round of golf on O'Meara for only £82 each. great course, very friendly staff in pro shop and bar after, check in at hotel was very smooth, room was fantastic with access to nice pool and fitness suite. Breakfast the following morning was very good and the staff were very attentive - twice noticing that we had finished our toast and offering to replenish. After breakfast we decided to play the Montgomerie course before leaving. Found this course much tougher than the Omeara on last visit but thought it played a little easier this time round. Greens in slightly better condition than O'meara (tho both very good). Monty seems to be the popular choice as it was the Irish Open venue twice but the 14th-16th on O'Meara are genuinely the best 3 hole loop i'v played anywhere in the UK & Ireland.
If you are staying here and travelling in to Maynooth after your round I would highly recommend Bistro 53 (2miles from the hotel) as a great dinner venue and Coffee Mill for coffee/lunch.
All in all, we couldn't fault Carton House as a great hotel, beautiful scenery, two great courses and fantastic staff. We'l definitely be back again before the Summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennmaitland80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lovely overnight stay at Carton House. We found the staff exceptionally helpful and very pleasant .
It was so nice to stay in a hotel where the kids were able to play and have fun and one receptionist in particular brought out games for them to play, we thought that was a nice touch.
The food was excellent in both the Kitchen Bar and The restaurant .

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dubmulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
902 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing