We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick. Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked the Sunday Driver package - 1 night B&B with a round of golf and a 2 course meal in the golf club. We upgraded the room and were not disappointed. The Autumn suite was huge and luxurious.

The house and estate are an escape from it all. We could not fault the service, food or drinks.
We did play the Montgomerie course which was challenging but enjoyable.
Would loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limerick1ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Limerick1ady,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    603
    346
    143
    78
See reviews for
519
1,086
35
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on a number of occassions and it does not get better with experience. My last stay was on business in June 2013 and it was overall a poor experience. Check in was slow and room was ok. Restaurant was very poor and was refused dessert in the Kitchen area because it was now closed (halfway through my meal!). Staff not very helpful unless pushed (better at reception however). Breakfast standard fare and sitting there for too long. Bedroom was good though cleanliness standard a little below par.
This hotel does not appear to know what it is about which is a pity as the building and grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear jaysheen,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. All feedback is appreciated and we work hard to deliver a service that can be appreciated by our guests.

I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.
Our Reception has 4 individual desks which are manned at busy times. However, at check in and check out there can be a situation when a lot of guests arrive together. Our Front Office team do try to ensure that check out is as smooth and efficient as possible. I have passed on your feedback to our Front Office Manager who has taken it on board and addressed it with her team..

I am surprised to hear that you were refused dessert in the restaurant. We have a system in place whereby our team of chefs do not close the kitchen until all our guests have fully finished dining. I notice your stay was in June and I have checked through our daily reports to identify any issues of this nature that were highlighted and have found none therefore I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further as I would like to investigate and follow up with our team.

I am sorry that you found our staff to be unhelpful and that we did not deliver our usually excellent standards of service and customer care during your stay. Our team are our greatest asset and we usually receive the most positive feedback possible on how friendly and efficient they are at what they do. We spend a great deal of time in providing continuous training to our teams throughout the resort to ensure that we achieve consistency in delivering the best possible standards to our guests. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy these standards on this occasion and I really appreciate your feedback as it will go some way in identifying any areas of weakness that we can work on.

As I mentioned already I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you highlighted further with you so that I may investigate and address with the team here. I can be contacted via email at emoore@cartonhouse.com or directly to the hotel on 01-5052000.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Society of 40 went and every aspect of trip incl golf, food and rooms. Played both courses, very different but both brilliant fun. O'Meara 1st and 18th are new and you can tell. Only because of how good the other holes are. Still very playable and I am sure they will be up to speed in no time. I was in standard room and it is of very high standard in every respect. Particularly the bathrooms which are big and most importantly very clean. The club house food was lovely and the staff even put the BBQ on for us. Have gone with society for last 3 years and will be back next.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Neilgolfer,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House.
I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed playing both our championship golf courses. I will pass on your nice comments to the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent our last night in Ireland here after an all too brief trip to this lovely country. Our room was huge, we were in The Spring Suite in the old part of the building. The bathroom was huge and luxurious, the bed was lovely with exquisite linen and one of the most comfortable experienced in our holiday (including the lovely bed in our suite when we cruised from Athens to Istanbul.) One small criticism was that the lighting in the room was too dim and while soft lighting can improve the ambience this was just too darn dim.
We arrived too late to book dinner at the main restaurant but we thoroughly enjoyed our light meal in the Kitchen Bar. Staff were, without exception, helpful, welcoming and always very polite.
Unfortunately we had an early plane to catch at Dublin Airport to Heathrow to then fly to Shanghai for the last stage of our holiday.
We were sorry that we could not stay another day, the grounds looked lovely and we have liked to explore more - but there you go.
If we ever return to Ireland we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to experience true luxury book a suite in the old building - magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Tasi,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the extra space which our suites offer. The ambience of the suites in the old house really does make the stay that bit extra special and we always receive such positive feedback on how unique they are.

I am also happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed your meal in The Kitchen Bar. I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A beautiful hotel set in beautiful grounds and great golf courses.

A beautiful hotel, well worth a good walk around, both indoors and outside. The main house is very special and the grounds are very spacious, you can easily spend a couple of hours just walking around.

The staff cannot do enough to make you stay special.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Martin B,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the surroundings. I am also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass on your nice comments.  

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Carton House for one night on our Honeymoon and boy were we treated to a fabulous 5 star experience, from check in, the spa, the suite, the bath, dinner and cocktails it was all amazing. What a wonderful location and beautiful settings - thoroughly recommended.
Thank you to all there who made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharondrConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SharondrConn,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is excellent from the time we arrived to the attentive staff, even our nights sleep was excellent and no noise or anyone one to wake us in halls at night. The whole hotel its is a must see for anyone visiting Ireland, lovely locations and lovely walk to Maynooth town, great golf if you like golf but not for me! Lovely walks around the Carton House estate and lovely managers and so helpful the staff. I cannot say anymore about the hotel it was A+ from how it was built to the old to the new it was lovely and perfect location for the romantic get away. A++++

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nulla186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Nulla186605,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing