We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfectly fantastic!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This must be one of my top 3 favourite hotels in Ireland! It is so lovely - a real mix of modern meets old world. For a hotel that is only about 30 minutes from Dublin, it really feels like you are away from it all. The grounds are beautiful - driving up to the hotel is breathtaking - I don't play golf, but the walks in the area are great. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely accommodating. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The atmosphere is luxury, but laid back and serene. The food is really good and there's plenty of choice.

This was my second visit to the hotel - I was there alone on the first occasion and with my family on the second and both times I've been extremely impressed. I'd go so far as to say I've fallen in love with Carton House! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Louise W,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed the surroundings. I am also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass on your nice comments.  

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    624
    356
    148
    79
See reviews for
528
1,111
35
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We brought our baby for a last minute over night stay recently and had another excellent experience. The staff are very warm and welcoming and the facilities top class.
Our daughter loved the baby pool and we enjoyed relaxing spa treatments and lovely food. All in all very enjoyable break and although just 30 minutes from home, it feels like another world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear unclepat,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Wonderful scenery, great for Golfers.
Restaurant & club house great for food.
Very friendly & helpful staff.
Ideal for weddings lots of space & great picturesque.
Treat yourself to some luxury and book a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Orlagh D,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
EImear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

recent golfing trip, excellent value. good rooms, very friendly staff, good meal and just a generally good experience. golf courses well maintained. play a little slow and surprised not to see marshal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofmpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear ofmpp,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. All feedback is appreciated and we work hard to deliver a service that can be appreciated by our guests.

I am sorry to hear that you found play to be slow on the golf course. I have shared your feedback with our Golf Operations team who will take it on board and use it to address any areas that require improvement.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stay in a lot of different hotels for business and my stay here rates as one of the best. Massive rooms (I was in the old part of the house, The Summer Suite I think) and one of the largest ensuite bathrooms ever. Everything I needed was to hand. Small but functional gym. Cracking spa facilities. The food in the restaurant was outstanding too (breakfast and dinner).

Normally some element of a hotel is disappointing, but I struggled to find anything to fault here. Only 30 mins from Dublin airport too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Paul G,

Thank you for posting your review of Carton House.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the extra space which our suites offer. The ambiance of the suites in the old house really does make the stay that bit extra special and we always receive such positive feedback on how unique they are.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently visited Carton House on a 2 day (1 night) golfing trip. We played both courses and dined in the restaurant. The setting is spectacular and the courses are both fantastic and very different. The Montgomerie Course is very challenging and the bunkers are tricky. In my opinion there are far too many on the course as even a good tee shot can be punished by a deep bunker. The O'Meara course was everyone's favourite and a much fairer test.

The food in the restaurant was superb and the service was as you would expect for a hotel of this class.

All in all a very enjoyable experience that is perfect for a golf weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear AnonymousBelfast,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to play both of our championship golf courses.

I will pass on your feedback to our Golf Operations team.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future, and should you have any queries please contact me directly so I can assist you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a 2-night stay in Carton House on our recent trip to Ireland. We bought the package - 2 nights, 1 dinner, 2 spa treatments. It was wonderful!
The hotel seemed a little empty when we arrived but was glad to see that the Club House and restaurant was busy in the evening. I think because it's quite spaced out (bedrooms in a separate wing) it seems quieter than it is. The room was nice, not exceptional and I didn't have a "wow" feeling but it was entirely comfortable.
The difference for me here was the setting, the service, the spa, and the food. The grounds were just beautiful and when we were deciding whether to go city centre or countryside, I was glad we opted for the latter. It was lovely doing a run around the grounds, easy to do a 5km, or add on another 6 km if you preferred. Neither of us being golfers, this was lost on us.
The spa was delightful too - a real treat. And I can't say enough about how helpful the staff were. What made the difference was the balance between being professional and friendly - they got this just right. Not overly officious, nor too "loose".
The food was beautiful too. We were told it would be good, and certainly weren't disappointed.
I'm really glad we opted for Carton House. Great from start to finish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Grace G,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. All feedback is appreciated and we work hard to deliver a service that can be appreciated by our guests.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House. It is always great to see such positive feedback on our team particularly in The Spa and that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the food during your stay, our team of Chefs will be particularly happy that you enjoyed your meal experience so much.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Warm Regards,
Eimear Moore
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
879 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing