We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My friend and I went to Carton House Hotel for one night and availed of the Molton Brown Spa

Accomodation was of a high standard, however the lighting in the bathroom was very poor.

The heating was also set at a low volume and another guest complained about it also on check out., the lady at reception said that it was cold outside!
Spa was very good, staff helpful, very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxychick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,587 - 2,593 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2008

On entering the grounds - you see the most amazing building - the old house is simply stunning,

Equally, the golf courses are fantastic.

The accomodation is very nice - in a modern wing to the side of the main house.

On the downside - the service is very mixed. The kitchen bar is really odd - no atmosphere at all and it comes across as an afterthought to the rest of the hotel. Additionally - a simple request for a vodka martini was met with confusion.

The restaurant is mixed -food OK service dependent on which waitor/waitress you get.

In summary - there was an opportunity to create an amzing resort with best in class facilities - unfortunately, great sports facilities with 3 star hotel just does not work for me

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank areviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Stayed for one night at a conference in work. What a fab hotel and fab grounds...wish I could have stayed there longer !!

My room was beautiful very classy, massive bed to die for. The bathroom was lovely separate shower and bath, very trendy. rooms had a cd player, tea coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and mini bar. Food excellent and friendly service...Spa was class...

They offer all sorts of mini breaks to suit all tastes....go and look at the pics...I would love to go back !!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jojomillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed here on Good Friday.
Receptionist was lovely. very helpful
Room was a good bit away from the main house.
Good size room. nice TV! fab bathroom but it was very dark.
Well stocked with toiliteries.
The leisure center was great. Really nice pool.

we didnt eat in the linden tree because it was really expensive but we ate in the golf club house which was nice and very reasonable.

Bar was really overpriced. €9 for a glass of wine?! and that was the cheapest one!

Breakfast was lovely and check out was quick.

The grounds are really stunning. Id defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DublinTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Fantastic looking Hotel in wonderful grounds, right beside golf course. The entrance to the reception desk is a bit unusual as we had to walk through their bar/eating area with our luggage to check in. Seemingly there are a couple of bars in the hotel but when we checked in at 2.00pm the only area to eat and drink was the lobby/reception area. Pity really, as when we went to eat lunch ourselves we found it quite distracting to have people walking by our table with suitcases etc.
When booking this hotel I was told to make sure that I also booked the Restaurant, The Lyndon Tree, as it is very popular, and sometimes they overbook. I did so and reservation was confirmed by e.mail. However on arrival they did not have my booking for the restaurant anywhere. I actually had to step behind reception desk to get into my e.mails to show them the confirmation e.mail that was sent to me - bit ridiculous. Anyhow it was cleared up and we got our table re booked. The food and staff in he restaurant excellent, very attentive.
Our room was deluxe and was one of the last ones to be cleaned, so check in bit slower than i expected. The room was lovely, view from balcony ok, (reason we picked this one)unfortunately it also overlooks the car par. Tv channels advertised in brochure, sport etc not available and tv not working correctly. The leisure centre a disappointment, pool small and cold, brochure picture deceiving, jacuzzi luke warm. Didn't try the Spa facilities.
Would go again, however would try to go on special rate as really not worth the full price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orladDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend break from Carton House. I had read a few reviews lamenting the poor service and as such I was a bit apprensive about stay. However I am pleased to report that my concerns were ill founded. The staff were excellent, the food was excellent and the whole experience was perfect. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. We will defininely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

One very immpressive hotel and grounds. When you drive up to the entrance, it is a bit like going back in time to a grand 18th century house, even on a miserable wet november day. Much better than a chain hotel in Dublin city centre but the taxi from the airport is expensive. The hotel is divided in 2 parts - the old house which is stunning and a new build. The old part seems nicer but rooms are more expensive here. Had a quick tour from one of the staff - Queen Victoria and Grace Kelly stayed here once and you can see why. Probably a great place in the summer and I will try and go back. Food just above average and pool a bit small but a memorable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank frenchfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
949 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
5 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
347 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range: $174 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing