We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,755)
Filter reviews
2,755 results
Traveler rating
1,466
660
382
161
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
660
382
161
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslinden tree restaurantold housecoach housegolf clubbeautiful hotelkitchen barbeautiful groundsthe main housespa treatmentsrelaxing breaktop classmain restaurantspecial occasionleisure centreone night stayafternoon teaenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,905 - 1,910 of 2,755 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a lovely hotel not cheap but in a beautiful setting all the staff we met were very friendly and professional. Unfortunately the spa was booked out the day we were there so didn't get to experience it. Pool is not that big and there was lots of kids there so very family friendly but maybe not ideal for those looking for relaxing swim. The room was very nice and good size with beautiful big bath in the bathroom. Food was very good we made the mistake of late lunch which was very generous portion for the price and then we didn't fully appreciate dinner as still full from lunch! The restaurant is very nice we had a nice table near a window with lovely view of a huge old tree. Breakfast selection very good and the way it's laid out works really well in the restaurant for large numbers of people.
Really enjoyed our stay we got a good package deal which was good value as dinner and breakfast included.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinLouphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fantastic grounds. Dinner was amazing but better off having some equally lovely but more casual lobby/bar with children. Need to book spa treatments in advance as it was booked out for a few days when I tried to book after check in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringOffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My family all booked in to Carton for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic from start to finish. We booked under the winter wonderland package which included dinner in Linden Tree. There was a big group of us so we were seated in a room in the old part of the hotel with two other groups. The room was fantastic and the food was gorgeous - faultless. Staff were so efficient and friendly especially Jeana. The pool is fantastic. We have a baby and it's lovely and warm and spotless. I would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moso06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday night. From the moment we arrived the whole experience was just wonderful... We had a bed, breakfast and dinner "deal", and we added on a round of golf for him, and spa treatments for me. The hotel and grounds are just lovely, and we loved the room.. elegantly furnished, roomy and extremely comfortable. We had a very relaxing lunch in the Kitchen Bar, and dinner that night in the Linden Tree Restaurant. All food was excellent. We would have loved a second night! Cannot wait to go back, highly recommend this hotel. Also, the staff are fantastic, really friendly and helpful and so pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskirstylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful property and would reccomend to anyone looking for a little luxury. The onsite activities are also fantastic, especially the zip wire! Only stayed a night on business but I will most certainly be returning if leisure

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews