We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms and beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Was at the Carton House in early November for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Workout facilities were very nice, beautiful grounds for walking or running and the rooms were first rate. One small complaint, showers are too small.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OIB_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear OIB_Guy,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    604
    346
    143
    79
See reviews for
521
1,088
35
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a fabulous place to stay, I was lucky enough to stay in the original building with a view out across acres of lawn & the lake towards the golf course, my room had its own tiny secret spiral staircase outside. All the interior decoration is of an exceptional standard making you feel completely pampered. The buffet breakfast is excellent & best of all, after dropping off my luggage, noone bothered me. I'm hoping to go back soon, its only 25minutes from Dublin so you can get in to the theatre in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask to go in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeph1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear zeph1r,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us here in Carton House. The Original part of the hotel is really special and I am delighted that you found the décor to be of such an exceptional standard.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carton in the near future where you are assured of a warm welcome.


Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have to be honest and say I did not know the Carton House existed until we planned our weekend away. And, I'm glad we chose this hotel.
The setting and grounds are superb. Tranquil and relaxing.
The hotel staff are courteous and more than willing to help. Booking in was swift and directions to rooms etc accurate.
My room was in the 'newly furbished' aspect of the hotel. The room itself was clean, modern, comfortable and quite spacious. The bathroom was spotless and well proportioned. The contents of the room were as would be expected of a Hotel of this quality.
As part of our booking we included an evening meal - outstanding value for money. I would recommend booking the meal package online as it is cheaper than to pay separately.
The restaurant food is divine - vegetarian option was a delight!
Breakfast was delicious and in a relaxing atmosphere. Would I stay again? Yes!!

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing overlooking the tennis courts. Quiet and very modern. Ensure you can use the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Paula h,

On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Please do not hesitate to request a particular room type the next time you book with us. I can recommend our unique suites located in the historic old building for that special treat or one of our balcony rooms which have some great views of the grounds here in Carton.
I am glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in our Linden Tree Restaurant for dinner and breakfast and I have shared your comments with the team there.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a really nice hotel - the grounds are spectacular - the old part of the house is outstanding - the bars are really nice - the drinks are reasonably priced. The rooms are great - with fantastic bathrooms. There are two things I would take issue with - firstly the food in the hotel is massively overpriced - given how out of the way the hotel is from Maynooth - be prepared to shell out for it. Secondly - and this is the biggest issue - the 'spa' which loosely translated into a small pool and some treatment rooms are not up to scratch and worthy of a three star - which is a huge shame given the high presentation else where. The pool is reminiscent of a local authority pool and the Jacuzzi was out of order when I was there. If I could advise the hotel to do one thing it would be to take a look at other new four star hotels and quickly address this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaystella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Holidaystella,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us and that you found that the rooms and public areas to be of a high standard.

I am sorry that you feel that the Leisure facilities were not adequate for your needs. It is of course not good enough that our Jacuzzi was out of order and I can understand how this would have taken from your Spa experience - please accept my sincere apologies for this.
Our Leisure area is fitted out with an 18 Meter Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and Steam Room and we have found that along with our split level Gym and various treatment rooms that we consistently receive very positive reviews of the facilities and services provided in the Spa and Leisure area.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Recently stayed here while attending a wedding, what a fantastic Hotel, can definitely see why the newly weds picked it. Staff superb (especially Heather) food excellent, rooms big bright and comfortable. Lovely bathrooms, loved the stand alone shower. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff here. Grounds stunning, just a very welcoming place to visit would have no qualms about recommending and will definitely be back. Thanks to all the staff for making it such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eibhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

A majestic place, the backdrop is 400 hectares of greenness, some of which is a golf course. We chose it purely to say we have experienced a stay in a beautiful Irish place from a bygone era. The dinner, bed and breakfast package was a good price for all that we experienced (ie beautiful building, location and room. The facilities are top notch as is expected. We ate our way through three beautifully crafted and presented food courses and the service was attentive and professional. The only odd thing was we arrived before everyone else at 7pm for our dinner and asked to be seated near a floor to ceiling window (we were placed one table away). We were told it was 'booked' by someone else . They never arrived. Call me sensitive but I felt it was a little touch of snobbishness.
The rooms are exceptional in their furnishing and appointment. The bathroom was out of this world.
Just be aware the room doors are heavy and when they close they do so with quite a bang. As there was a wedding function taking place there was quite a bit of noise down our corrider until the wee hours. Room placement for those not part of a function would match the otherwise high standard of service we received.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Over the last few years we've celebrated our wedding anniversary in Carton House. Overnighting it with dinner in the Linden Tree, excellent staff and lovely bedroom.Really enjoyable.
J.B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
6.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
14.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing