We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be great -but it's a kip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This should be great -but it's a kip!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

What has ruined ny experience of this place, is the bloody lazy bar staff. The service is terrible. I qued at the main bar where 5 staff were serving, with about 4 other patrons. The completely lethargic, unenthusiastic and slow staff took 25 minutes to serve the queuing customers. That's just not cool. There was no excuse or need for such a poor performance! The bar was by no means busy, I'd hate to see what kind Of service they may provide for a busy wedding or event! Be warned people! When I was eventually served, I asked for white wine, and was handed a beer glass to drink it from!!! Firstly, it's a hotel, how does a hotel (with no wedding etc) run out of wine glasses! Secondly, white wine in a beer glass is going to warm up very quickly, ruining the enjoyment. I also noticed that there was a general lack of manners from the bar staff, no eye contact, change thrown back down on the bar and no "please" or "thank you". There will never be an excuse good enough to return here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annIe-Lou-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Annie- Lou,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, Our sincere apoligies that the service in our Bar was not how it should of been, We should always provide fast friendly warm service and this was not the case for you and I'm sorry for this and I can assure that we will address this and make sure that service that you experienced those not happen again,
Once again thank you for your feedback as this feedback helps us improve in areas where standards are not where they should be,

Please e-mail me direct at tedrobinson@glenroyal.ie if I can help in any other way,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    161
    73
    22
    30
See reviews for
125
113
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i have just returned from a stay in the glenroyal hotel, we attended the tommy tiernan show last night which was fantastic and very well organised, on arrival we were checked in promptly in less than 5 minutes even though the hotel was jam packed due to the cork and clare match on yesterday the receptionist was very nice and informative, having looked at photos on trip advisor before we booked the hotel we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at how nice the hotel was the rooms have obviously been renovated since the photos that are on trip advisor the room was gleaming and had a lovely fresh modern decor with a neutral calming colour scheme no garish colours unlike some other hotels the room was large and bright there was plenty of space for our luggage, our room was 209, the hotel itself is a lot bigger than i had thought, it is a great venue for conferences and shows, the saints bar was modern and clean it had very good live music last night after the show and had a nice atmosphere, the food in the bistro was delicious and the servings were huge, the asian man working there was very pleasant and helpful, as were all of the staff we encountered, the manager ted robinson was a great help when planning our visit, nothing was too much trouble he gave us great advice for during our stay, the only problem we had was that we didnt have a long enough stay, we would definitely go again im not sure what the star rating is but i would geuss that it is a 4 star with 5 star service, i would highly recommend this hotel for couples and families too as it offers a kids room and a babysitting service,
Thank you to all of the staff for an amazing stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mandy,

Thank you very much for kind feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the Tommy Tiernan show, thank you also for your kind feedback on the service our team gave to you durning your stay as we do like to make our guests feel at home with a warm welcome,
We do hope to see you again soon in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

First impression was modern lively hotel but .....
Receptionist was cold to us with no welcome . Nice bar area though was let down by out of date info regarding entertainment .
Rooms were clean and well equipped .a nice comfortable 2 nights was had.
Breakfast both days was really warm and welcoming.
All in all a good hotel just let down a little by the reception but i stress just a little.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Garry,


Thank you for your feedback and it was nice to see that overall you enjoyed your stay,

We do hope to see you again soon in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is an ok choice, but it clearly needs some updating. The rooms are clean, bathroom ok too, but the windows are very bad, especially if you're not used to the cold weather of this country. I traveled to Ireland in June and temperatures at night were very low, and you could feel the cold coming in through the windows. Staff was polite and helpful, although sometimes they had limited resources (only one power adapter for all guests coming from countries that use a different plugs and sockets). Can't fault them, it was my mistake I forgot to buy one at home. Breakfast ok, decent choice, for all tastes.
Furnishings are a bit tired, but the hotel does not pretend to be what it's not. The conference organizers paid for accommodation, so I can't say if the quality /price ratio was fair.
I liked Ireland a lot, it has a lot of heart.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had a nice stay and we take on board your feedback about having more adapters which we now have more in place in the hotel,

Once again thank you and hope you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland,

We do hope you visit us again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I attended a conference here in the Glen Royal hotel in April, I would not recommend this as a great hotel to stay in. It was fine for the conference but you would not want to stay in this hotel for a holiday. I ate in the bar for lunch and found the service really slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for your feedback and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we take on board your comments about service been slow and we will make sure that this does not happen again,

Once again thanks for your feedback and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

this hotel is realy nice, comfortable and very friendly staff. Foods not up to much though although we didnt try the thai resturant. the breakfast wasnt great very little in the line of healthy options apart from tined oranges or watermellon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be friendly, We take on board your feedback with regard to more healthy options for breakfast and we will look to improve in this area,

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the Glenroyal for only one night as we were attending a wedding in nearby Straffan. Hotel was very busy when we arrived but front desk had us checked in in two minutes. Also as we were flying out early the following morning we asked if front desk could print out some holiday details for us, this was no problem at all and they had the documents ready and waiting the next time I went down the stairs. Room was small but prefect, comfortable bed. We were off too early in the morning to enjoy breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jennifer,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and its great to hear that our Reception team look after you really well,
We do hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
1.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
902 reviews
13.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing