We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place with great facilities and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Superb place with great facilities and good food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We are still here. We arrived about 2pm; it was a wet, windy miserable day and we got a friendly greeting and a fast check in by the cheery receptionist. Good start. The room was huge comfortable and we were delighted. Getting better. Time for a Bewleys Irish tea and biscuit in the room. Off to the leisure centre, fab huge steam room and equally fab huge jacuzzi, both at perfect temperature which is so important. Now great. Dinner was 2 seafood chowder a chicken Caesar salad main and a baked salmon main, all very good to excellent. A special word about the sublime cocktails - truly bloody wonderful - best I've had in a long time (Mai Tai & Manhattans) and I had 3 cruises in 2012, so I've had my fair share of cocktails including cruising around the Caribbean swilling Bermudan rum cocktails (Goslings rum). All staff über friendly and we are looking forward to a great night's sleep and brekky. Oh I read some reviews whinging about this place - I found little fault and I'm hard to please having spent the last 35 years travelling extensively. Tell you the truth we've been in 5 stars in Ireland (Donegal & Fermanagh) and this place is as good in many aspects - ok it's not haute cuisine and the chef here is a bit fond of balsamic reduction decorations on the plates but the level of warm friendliness, comfort, facilities and food make this place a worthwhile stay and if you do - don't miss the fab cocktails. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for very much for your kind feedback and we are glad that enjoyed your stay and also one of our many Cocktails, We are glad you found the hotel team to be warm and friendly and its great to know that you will visit us again,

Thank you

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    159
    71
    21
    29
See reviews for
122
108
29
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel looked the part. Modern, nice rooms which were comfortable and clean and a nice bar area. Breakfast was also of a high standard and the receptionist was pleasant and very helpful. That said, I slept for approximately 2 hours thanks to plant noise from something on the roof above the room. I woke up at 2.00am and can only say the noise was like being in an aeroplane cruising at 30000ft! Never managed to get back over. A businees colleague in an adjacent room had a similar experience. As I was getting up at 6.00am I didnt ask to be moved so can't comment on how the staff would have dealt with it. I do note previous comments on trip advisor reviews complaining of the same issue. I would try this hotel again on the stipulation that my room would be well away from any plant on the roof.

Room Tip: If you hear fan noise when you enter the room, ask to be moved - it won't get any better and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCCo.Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that you were not able to get a good night sleep, We have this issue now resloved and please do ask for me the next time you are visting and I will ensure your stay will be much more enjoyable,

Thanks again

Kind Regard

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel as I was attending a Conference there the next day. Arrived at 5:30pm, only one reception staff member on duty so didn't actually get into my room until almost 6:15pm. The fire was not lit which left the lobby / reception area seem very cold and univiting given that it was mid January would expect the fire to be blazing. Some of the carpets, particularly on the stairs could be renewed as well worn. Good standard hotel, the room was fine, nothing out of the ordinary but clean & warm. Good nights sleep. The lobby area Breakfast sufficient if a little slow. Would stay there again as it is excellent central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Maureen

Thank you for feedback and we are glad that you would stay hear again, I take on board your feedback with regard to the carpert been worn and we are glad to say these will be replaced with the next two months,
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenroyal soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived 4 pm warm welcome fire blazing in lobby, Check in very easy, family room very well equipped,enjoyed good bar snack with drinks, swimming pool really great for both adults and children, had lovely booth table in restuarant,food and service excellent, breakfast really enjoyable , kids room really good parents can enjoy a drink on couched seating area with large flat screen tv,while kids enjoy jigs saws,books, piano,toy kitchen etc.over all a value experience .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that your kids enjoyed our new kids rooms,
Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future,


Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We needed an overnight stay in Maynooth at short notice, close to the Main Street. The Glenroyal fitted the bill for us, and was clean and pleasant although ready for a refurb. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was fine and the rooms comfortable enough. Nothing out of the ordinary, but no complaints either. I'd stay there again, but if I needed somewhere for more than the odd night, I'd probably keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you very much for you feedback and we are glad you found the team to be helpful and friendly, We are glad to say we are in the middle of a refurbishment of our bedrooms, we hoped to have this completed by the end of March,
We do hope you visit us again in the near future,

Once again thank you for you positive feedback,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a day after a wedding party for location reasons, upon arrival check in was fine i have been to this hotel many times for dining a and social outings but never stayed this was my 1st time, on getting into the lift i knew from then on it wasnt going to be nice the lift was dirty and in bad need of a refurb, when we got into the room i was smaller than a dog box we had checked in at 3pm in the day so had planned of spending a few hours there but there was no way would i ever recommend this hotel to anyone the room was dingy and just really bad for the 89euro we had spent, we walked out straight away as a result, we got a executive suite in another hotel much nicer and stylish for and extra 10euro!!! never again

Room Tip: dont book here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank allyk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Ally,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I apoligise that you did not get a nice room to stay in, I fully take on board your feedback with regard to the room you had needing a refurbishment and we are glad to say that we are currently in the process of upgrading all rooms in the original part of the hotel at the moment, We have just completed 25 of these rooms and we hope to have the remaining 30 rooms in this part of the hotel completed and refurbished by the end of February 2013,
I'm gald that you found our team and check in to be fine and I would hope that you will consider visiting us again as all our rooms will be of the standard that will make your stay much more comfortable and relaxing,

Please e-mail me directly on tedrobinson@glenroyal.ie if you would consider visiting again and I will ensure you stay in a much larger newly refurbished bedroom,

Once again thank you for you feedback and we will have all your issues raised rectified very shortly,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal €30 including breakfast. The hotel was very quite so it was kind of cold around the hotel but rooms were warm, it is very strange the way it is layed out it is like a maze to get around. Breakfast was lovely regular buffet good selection. We ate in the restaurant that evening waitress was lovely food was nice too some things a bit expensive cheaper options too

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westportguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be very pleasant,
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
1.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
422 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing