We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
261
187
89
34
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
187
89
34
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station family pool leisure club tayto park town centre family break tea and coffee thai restaurant checking in double bed course meal great facilities fantastic hotel breakfast was excellent well worth a visit enjoyable stay reception area
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 610 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel looked the part. Modern, nice rooms which were comfortable and clean and a nice bar area. Breakfast was also of a high standard and the receptionist was pleasant and very helpful. That said, I slept for approximately 2 hours thanks to plant noise from something on the roof above the room. I woke up at 2.00am and can only say the noise was like being in an aeroplane cruising at 30000ft! Never managed to get back over. A businees colleague in an adjacent room had a similar experience. As I was getting up at 6.00am I didnt ask to be moved so can't comment on how the staff would have dealt with it. I do note previous comments on trip advisor reviews complaining of the same issue. I would try this hotel again on the stipulation that my room would be well away from any plant on the roof.

Room tip: If you hear fan noise when you enter the room, ask to be moved - it won't get any better and it won't stop during the night.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expedition802695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that you were not able to get a good night sleep, We have this issue now resloved and please do ask for me the next time you are visting and I will ensure your stay will be much more enjoyable,

Thanks again

Kind Regard

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel as I was attending a Conference there the next day. Arrived at 5:30pm, only one reception staff member on duty so didn't actually get into my room until almost 6:15pm. The fire was not lit which left the lobby / reception area seem very cold and univiting given that it was mid January would expect the fire to be blazing. Some of the carpets, particularly on the stairs could be renewed as well worn. Good standard hotel, the room was fine, nothing out of the ordinary but clean & warm. Good nights sleep. The lobby area Breakfast sufficient if a little slow. Would stay there again as it is excellent central location.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Maureen

Thank you for feedback and we are glad that you would stay hear again, I take on board your feedback with regard to the carpert been worn and we are glad to say these will be replaced with the next two months,
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenroyal soon,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived 4 pm warm welcome fire blazing in lobby, Check in very easy, family room very well equipped,enjoyed good bar snack with drinks, swimming pool really great for both adults and children, had lovely booth table in restuarant,food and service excellent, breakfast really enjoyable , kids room really good parents can enjoy a drink on couched seating area with large flat screen tv,while kids enjoy jigs saws,books, piano,toy kitchen etc.over all a value experience .

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that your kids enjoyed our new kids rooms,
Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future,


Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We needed an overnight stay in Maynooth at short notice, close to the Main Street. The Glenroyal fitted the bill for us, and was clean and pleasant although ready for a refurb. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was fine and the rooms comfortable enough. Nothing out of the ordinary, but no complaints either. I'd stay there again, but if I needed somewhere for more than the odd night, I'd probably keep looking.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you very much for you feedback and we are glad you found the team to be helpful and friendly, We are glad to say we are in the middle of a refurbishment of our bedrooms, we hoped to have this completed by the end of March,
We do hope you visit us again in the near future,

Once again thank you for you positive feedback,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a day after a wedding party for location reasons, upon arrival check in was fine i have been to this hotel many times for dining a and social outings but never stayed this was my 1st time, on getting into the lift i knew from then on it wasnt going to be nice the lift was dirty and in bad need of a refurb, when we got into the room i was smaller than a dog box we had checked in at 3pm in the day so had planned of spending a few hours there but there was no way would i ever recommend this hotel to anyone the room was dingy and just really bad for the 89euro we had spent, we walked out straight away as a result, we got a executive suite in another hotel much nicer and stylish for and extra 10euro!!! never again

Room tip: dont book here!!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank allyk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Ally,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I apoligise that you did not get a nice room to stay in, I fully take on board your feedback with regard to the room you had needing a refurbishment and we are glad to say that we are currently in the process of upgrading all rooms in the original part of the hotel at the moment, We have just completed 25 of these rooms and we hope to have the remaining 30 rooms in this part of the hotel completed and refurbished by the end of February 2013,
I'm gald that you found our team and check in to be fine and I would hope that you will consider visiting us again as all our rooms will be of the standard that will make your stay much more comfortable and relaxing,

Please e-mail me directly on tedrobinson@glenroyal.ie if you would consider visiting again and I will ensure you stay in a much larger newly refurbished bedroom,

Once again thank you for you feedback and we will have all your issues raised rectified very shortly,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews